We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Goth weekend stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
redwench
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Goth weekend stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Absolutely fantastic price for 6 people staying over one of the busiest weekends in Whitby. Such a gorgeous house the decor is superb. Absolutely spotless. All bedrooms were spacious and the outside yard to the back was so pretty (rare for whitby) will definitely stay again. Owners were so pleasant and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Hello Netty!

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you had an enjoyable stay and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Thank you
Brett Wilson
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria...
1 review
“Superb Retreat !!”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our Jack Russell, my husband and I have just returned from a few days away at Scoresby Retreat. It is beautifully decorated throughout to a high standard ,with a well equipped kitchen and offers a cosy homely feel from the minute you arrive.
There is a corner shop, butcher and chip shop just around the corner and only a five minute walk into Whitby, where there are lots of shops, restaurants, pubs, something for everyone.
It was lovely to be able to bring our dog and enjoyed a long walk on the beautiful West Cliff beach, we also visited Whitby Abbey.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would recommend this property and look forward to a return visit in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Thank you Vicky, for your great review. sounds as though your really got around Whitby and all its character. We try to make your stay at Scoresby Retreat memorable and home from home.Hope to see you again in the near future Thank you for choosing our lovely home.
Brett owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therobert...
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect holiday getaway!”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My teenage daughter, husband, well behaved Irish terrier and I stayed for 6 days at this lovely home.
I really can't recommend it highly enough. The owners have decorated it beautifully and clearly given a great deal of thought as to what makes for a perfect getaway with everything we needed.
Don't worry if you forget something as there's a Happy Shopper 1 minute from the back door. There's also a great pub and both a butcher over the road and a fish n chip shop. We didn't try the fish n chips but the landlord at the pub told us we could bring fish n chips in whilst enjoying a drink as he doesn't do food.
Walking into Whitby was no more than a 10 minute leisurely stroll with great shops and a handy, sizeable Co-op. There's a large Sainsbury's a short drive from the house too.
We visited the Abbey, which is super and the 199 steps are easier than they sound. During the summer there are very entertaining Dracula performances during the weekends, included in your admission making the visit even more worthwhile.
Crabbing is very popular and many places sell what you need. Buckets range in size. We bought the biggest at £2.99. Bait can be bought for £1. We bought ours from the 'crab' shack by the harbour, opposite the Pier Inn. My daughter was thrilled to catch 70 crabs one day and 73 the next!
Enjoyed some lovely walks with our dog though it's quite a distance beyond the beach huts where dogs are allowed in the summer. Discovered the Cinder track where we took the dog but we're disappointed that Pannett park that is so close doesn't even have a dog area :-(
Also enjoyed the Falling Foss waterfall and tearoom, dinner at the Duke of York pub overlooking the harbour ( if you want the baked crab go at lunch as they've often run out of their allocation by dinner) Drinks at the Ship Inn were lovely (they don't do food so stay reasonably
quiet which is nice if you want a
break from the hustle and bustle!)
Overall a great holiday even with mixed weather! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Hello Georgina!

Wow! What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are so glad you had a fun filled stay at Scoresby Retreat Whitby!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards
Brett Wilson
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;