We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best b&b experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gramarye Suites B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gramarye Suites B&B
Ranked #2 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best b&b experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Well, what can I say- the best experience of my life! My boyfriend and I arrived via train from York and were greeted by the lovely Molly. We instantly felt at home and knew it was going to be a great stag :) she showed us to our room, fine faerie suite, absolutely luxurious! Massive bed, soft pillows and a recently installed shower that was to die for! It had an in-built shower radio, back jets, side jets and a waterfall head, amazing. My boyfriend had a different breakfast everyday, continental, salmon with scrambled eggs, kippers and traditional English. Alongside all that we're fresh pastries and croissants plus homemade granola and muesli and cheese and fresh bread. My goodness it was wonderful! Every day we returned home to a slice of beautiful homemade cake-which my boyfriend and I gladly devoured. An amazing stay, would recommend to anyone, ever!

Room Tip: Garden room looks lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
298
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We enjoyed a large extremely comfortable room with flawless hospitality from Molly and John. Superb breakfasts made with local produce and complemented by Molly's home baked bread, muffins, bagels, jams, etc. This is without doubt the best b & b we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask fir the Faerie Room. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in the Garden Room for a couple of days as part of our honeymoon and absolutely loved it! Molly is so accommodating and friendly, her homemade touches are wonderful (cake every day in the room, croissants, jams and pastries at breakfast) and the room is spotless and so luxurious. The breakfasts are also to die for. We particularly loved the continental option which consisted of pretty much a whole cheese board! Couldn't have asked for more, wonderful place and we can't wait for our one year anniversary so we can visit again. Thank you, Molly!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elimaus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Have just returned home form three lovely days at The Gramarye Suites, from start to end it was the most relaxing friendly place that we have stayed in. Molly is fantastic and a born host, we stayed in the Fraire room, the bed and linen were top quality, the shower was fab. Beverage tray was excellent and Mollys cakes were delicious, left daily for us, a real treat. I am not really a breakfast person but my husband Michael is and he couldn't rate the cooked breakfast high enough. We saw our other host John (Mollys partner) on our final day, he also was very friendly and welcoming. When we returned home we wished we were back at The Gramarye and cannot wait to go back. Thank you both for a lovely stay and thank you Molly for the lovely Jam.

Michael & Kim
Irby Grimsby

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Well, Sue and I have just returned from another 3 day break at what I would consider to be the best B&B in the country, and, I have visited a lot. The first time we went there, we knew within minutes that we would be back. Molly and John are just the best hosts you could ever have, the rooms are just fantastic, each one of the three rooms has it's own theme as you can see from the gallery on the web page. The facilities are unbelievable with fresh fruit in the room every day, home made cake every day, a fridge in all rooms with milk and water placed in daily and the shower rooms are to be seen to be believed. Breakfast is quite an event, with the traditional grill of the highest quality, but something for every one with Molly and John between them putting on a spread to equal any 5* hotel. Serrano ham with continental cheeses, kippers, scrambled eggs on toast, with or without smoked salmon ( my favourite ) a huge home made fresh fruit salad, home made Granola, home made muesli and all the breads are home baked including Mollie's own English muffins and fresh Bagels all served with a variety of teas and coffee in pots so big you need to be an arm wrestler to pick up. The host's knowledge of the area is invaluable, with information on places to visit, places to eat ( bit difficult after the breakfast though ) but more importantly places where you shouldn't eat. John recommended the local Eskdale Fishery in the village which is sit in or take out, we sat in and we were blown away by the quality of the food and the service. Staying at the Gramarye is home from home and if you are going to the Whitby area you would be mad not to stay here.

Room Tip: Just pick any one they are all great,the Garden room is on the ground floor and because I have mobil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Booked a long weekend at the Gramarye Suites for our wedding anniversary and what a lovely way to celebrate. From the moment we arrived Molly and John did everything they could to make our weekend special. Not only did we enjoy homemade drizzle cake on arrival but they had also added a few extra surprises for us to mark the occasion. We booked the garden room which was a little haven of its own. I have to say it was a lovely room, beautifully decorated and furnished. As the room is in its own annexe it was very peaceful and we found this only added to the relaxing atmosphere. As for breakfast, what can I say!!! Fresh homemade bread, jams, croissants, pastries and cereals to start with a good varied choice for main. It was so refreshing to stay somewhere were you dont have to have the traditional full english, though if you do enjoy one, like my hubby, they are amazing. The breakfasts here certainly set you up for the day, in fact we didnt eat until we returned to our room late afternoon to enjoy another fresh homemade slice of cake. I have already recommended Gramarye to family and friends and can't wait to return. Thank you Molly and John for making us feel so welcome and for making our special weekend extra special! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed for two nights in the Gothic Room at this Guest House / Hotel. John and Molly are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Our room was immaculate, very well appointed and clean and comfortable, complete with four poster bed, the Gothic theme is very mild , and tastefully done. The breakfast was well presented with a huge choice available, full English or Kippers, Continental, plus a great choice of croissants, cereals and fruit salad. Wewould be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#4 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramarye Suites B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramarye Suites B&B

Property: Gramarye Suites B&B
Address: 15 Coach Road, Whitby YO22 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramarye Suites B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gramarye Suites is an official 5 Star award Gold Award (Visit Britain) B&B. All rooms have four poster, high post or feature king size beds, en suites, flat screen satellite TV, fridge, safe etc. Warm and friendly hosts, excellent award winning breakfast menu. We strive to make your stay as pleasurable and comfortable as we possibly can. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gramarye Suites Bed And Breakfast
Gramarye Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing