We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RETURN VISIT TO THE ARCHES”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arches Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arches Guesthouse
Ranked #22 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“RETURN VISIT TO THE ARCHES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Friendly hosts, Laura & Dave cannot do enough for you. Excellent breakfasts, home baking is as light as a feather, clean, modern rooms. Excellent shower. We will be going back in the near future hopefully we will get better weather !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobbowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
92
230
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Great place,lovely hosts! Cannot fault anything,spotlessly clean with tasty breakfast. Be sure to try homemade muffins. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Just returned from a short break to The Arches - it just gets better! Refurbishments have been carried out to most of the rooms which are lovely & a recent 'Breakfast Award'is richly deserved.
Laura & Dave are perfect hosts & all seems effortless.
Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 6 has nice small seated area with view of street (1st floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We have just returned home from our 1night stay.it was our first visit to Whitby and it was a great and wonderful experience. We stayed in room 5 which is a family room we had a en-suite. It was spotless with everything we needed, hair-dryer, TV, kettle with tea and coffee, oh and my daughter found some biscuits. The room was spotless. Breakfast was lovely and very well presented everything you needed all fresh, and again spotless you could see your face through the tea pot. Nothing was too much trouble .Very very friendly people Laura told us all about the local area which we found very useful. I would recommend this guest house its a must .will be back again .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotchenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberside
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have just returned from our weekend break for our 1st Wedding Anniversary at The Arches, this is the 5th time we have stayed there and have tried others in Whitby prior to this one and would never stay anywere else now. The owners are a lovely friendly couple who greet everyone with a smile and a warm friendly welcome, they are always full of advise and help you decide on the best things during your stay. We stayed in the newly decorated ground floor room which was luxury and spacious. The breakfast is out of this world with excellent choices to choose from. Lovely immaculately clean rooms always and the loveliest people most of all, see you again as soon as we can, Thank you all. x x

Room Tip: All the rooms suit us, spoilt for choice this time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumbersideBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the Arches Guesthouse Thur 12 to Sat 14 April 2012. We are a family of 4 (children aged 8 and 6) and would definitely recommend this Guesthouse to families and others.

We originally booked one of their family rooms over the internet but clashed with another family who booked the same room over the phone. The owner, David, telephoned us to explain what had happened and offered the alternative of the two attic rooms (nos 10 and 11) at the top of the house at no extra cost.

Rooms 10 and 11 are the only rooms in the attic and they are both lovely. Each room has three large velux windows (all with integral blinds) so the rooms are full of light. The guesthouse is a street back from the sea so we didn't miss out on any views by having velux windows. Plus, although I'm not tall I could stand on tiptoes and check out the weather coming in from the sea over the opposite rooftops :-)

The rooms are a decent size - one has a double bed and the other has a double bed plus a single bed. Both rooms are furnished and decorated very tastefully and the beams and sloping ceilings add charm. Plenty of storage space (including hanging space) for a few nights stay. We were able to leave the room doors propped open overnight so that it felt like one large family room.

Each room has an en-suite shower. They are small but cleverly done with everything that you could need. The rooms had nice shampoo, handwash, body lotion and there were tea and coffee making facilities with plenty of tea/coffee/hot chocolate. On arrival Laura made us a fresh pot of tea and brought it up to the room with some very nice bicuits - a thoughtful touch and just what was needed after a couple of hours in the car!

Breakfast was really good in the pleasant dining room in the basement. Plenty of choice of cereal, very nice fruit salad (with lots of strawberries, kiwi fruit, pineapple and melon - not just apple!) and natural yogurt, other fruit, as much toast as you could want and of course cooked breakfasts (including a vegetarian option). David served the breakfasts and was very good at checking we had enough of everything and coming back to clear plates and to refil tea/coffee/toast as often as needed.

We couldn't park near to the guesthouse, so we double-parked on arrival to unload our bags and then found a spot on the cliff top near the pavillion which wasn't too far away. The on-road parking is all free.

We had a very enjoyable stay and appreciate the hard work David and Laura obviously put in to make all their guests feel well looked after. We would certainly like to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorks-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a one night stay at the archers and wished we could have stayed longer! We stayed in a family room which was fantastic-spacious,clean and cosy. A travel cot was provided as was a high chair at breakfast which meant their was two less things for us to carry! It's always difficult to find a hotel that is friendly to young families but this ticks all the boxes and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#19 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#37 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#12 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arches Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arches Guesthouse

Property: Arches Guesthouse
Address: 8 Havelock Place | Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches is a Victorian, 4 star, family run Guest House. We are situated conveniently on Whitby’s West Cliff which is only a 5 minute stroll from town, the harbour or beach. Our Stylishly decorated rooms have Egyptian cotton bedding and towels, complementary refreshments, Wi-Fi, and modern flat screen TVs. Each of our double, twin, & family rooms are en-suite, and our single rooms each have private bathrooms. We offer generous breakfasts including full English, vegetarian and daily specials, as well as fresh fruit salad, home baked muffins (baked daily), homemade marmalade and preserves, not to mention real coffee! A warm welcome on arrival starting with the offer of a pot of tea or coffee helping you to relax straight away; would you like another homemade cookie…………? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arches Guesthouse Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing