We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Rosslyn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosslyn House
Ranked #8 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Booked into the Rosslyn for an overnight stay and will definately look to book again when we return to Whitby. Patsy and Jo were great hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. The ensuite room we had was ideal at the back, and the free wifi was excellent. We were handily placed for a nice stroll into the town centre and close to where we needed to be.

Breakfast was cooked to order with fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereal available as well. I can see why the Rosslyn has a great reputation and would recommend for anybody wanting a nice place to stay in Whitby. Look forward to returning again in the future when we travel down from Scotland

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Rosslyn House. Patsy and Jo were very welcoming and helpful, and offer lots of good information about Whitby and surrounding area.
The hotel is lovely and clean, comfortable and within walking distance of the town. Breakfast was lovely, with a really good choice of menu, and served really quickly. We will go back and the only place to stay will here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

What a fantastic place to stay Patsy and Jo so caring from the minute we arrived to the time we left Bedroom clean and tidy as was the rest of the House. Great breakfast. Having experienced somne bad B&B's in the past We couldn't have wished for a more homely place than the Rosslyn and will be returning next time we go to Whitby. Thanks Patsy and Jo for a lovely time Hope to see you in the future.
Stuart, Jackie, Ken and Anne

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at Rosslyn House where Jo and Patsy could not have been more welcoming, friendly or helpful. Wonderful breakfasts in the elegant dining room - Whitby kippers, smoked haddock, poached eggs in addition, of course, to the delicious full English (everthing locally sourced). Very conveniently situated for the town and the harbour. Had never been to Whitby before and definitely want to go back again, so much to do and see. The rooms at Rosslyn House are comfortable, stylish and spotlessly clean - I really was not expecting such luxury in a B&B, but this is no ordinary B&B!! Nothing is too much trouble for Jo and Patsy and they make sure that your stay is a relaxing and memorable experience. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJMandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Patsy and Jo run an outstanding B&B in a great position, close to the Harbour and to Westcliff. Very friendly and professionallly run.
A bright and elegant breakfast room, a perfect spot to enjoy any one of the many breakfast options.
If you have never stayed in a B&B before, this is the one to try.

Thanks Jo and Patsy, we will be back!

Room Tip: Take a look, room inspections are welcomed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brisbanepurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at Rosslyn House, and was made to feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, even a late breakfast after an accidental sleep in (I blame the perfectly working blackout blind in the attic room!) and an "off the menu" breakfast for a picky eater. Jo & Patsy treat visitors like friends, always time for a chat and to take an interest in what you are up to, and happy to recommend places to eat/visit.

Rooms are clean, tidy and nicely decorated and the guest kitchen, which we didn't actually use in the end, is a great idea, right down to milk in the fridge for your coffee.

Looking forward to staying again next year.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are peaceful but more suitable to fitter guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have just spent three wonderful days at Rosslyn House, Jo and Pastsy made us so very welcome, the breakfast is amazing and the choices we're plentiful ranging from good old english to whitby kippers which we personally enjoyed each morning, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the guest kitchen added that little bit more comfort.We went to celebrate our Anniversary and was very pleasantly surprised by fresh flowers and card in our room from Jo and Pastsy.Definitely home from home and would recommend this B&B to anyone planning a break in Whitby.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.3 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 155 in Whitby
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#15 of 155 in Whitby
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#11 of 155 in Whitby
394 reviews
0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 155 in Whitby
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn House

Address: 11 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £99 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosslyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 Star, Silver Award, Bed and Breakfast. Quality accommodation in large newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms in a central location on West Cliff. Free Wifi and Parking Permits.Children over 12 years only. Check In between 15.00 and 18.00 (unless agreed in advance with proprietor). Breakfast served 8.30 to 9.00. Please specify arrival time on booking, together with mobile phone number. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Rosslyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing