We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosslyn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosslyn House
Ranked #7 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just returned after a 3 night stay at Rosslyn. Excellent accomodation, the room was comfortable, clean + well appointed.+ the full english breakfasts were superb. Rosslyn is in a great location to explore whitby + Patsy + Jo are very friendly + couldn't have been more helpful or accomodating. I strongly recommend Rosslyn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
206
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

To celebrate my 70th birthday in October, 2012 my wife took me on a surprise visit by train to Whitby in order to give access to the North Yorkshire Moors Railway. My wife decided on the Rosslyn Guest House as she liked the response she received when making preliminary enquiries over the telephone . As it turned out my wife's perception of our hosts was well founded as Patsy and Jo were an absolute joy, full of fun and hospitality. We could not have been made more welcome. Breakfast was taken in the very light and attractive front room with its high ceiling. On my birthday there was a 70th birthday balloon floating above our table in the bay window and a little cake with a candle. Every morning we watched the local dairyman, J. Ventress (shades of Heartbeat) deliver the milk. The house is situated in a residential area with a very wide street so there is ample room for parking for those not fortunate enough to have come by train The station is about a 6 minute taxi ride down the hill. We fell in love with Whitby. Coming from Cornwall we were surprised how attractive the area is. We hope to return one year when the NYMR is running at full strength. If so we shall have no hesitation in returning to the Rosslyn Guest House.

Room Tip: Patsy and Jo will allocate the best available at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just got back from a two night stay at Rosslyn House. We had a great time. Jo and Patsy are brilliant hosts and were great with our ten month old daughter. Our room was clean, spacious and well furnished.
The breakfast is delicious and there is plenty of choice on the breakfast menu.
A good bonus is the guest kitchen, which was handy for washing kids bottles etc.
The location is great, it is a five minute walk to the harbour/sea front.
When we return to Whitby we will be staying here.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which had plenty of room for a travel cot and loads of wardrobe space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AccyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Jo and Patsy were so nice, welcomed us and helped us with all of our bags up to our room with the baby. They also gave us great tips on where to go and where was family friendly.
The breakfast was delicious, came quickly, and was really fresh. Full Yorkshire brekky one morning and a Whitby kipper the next. They even made some special scrambled egg for the baby. They even lit a candle in a croissant for my bday :)
Double room was nice and big- big enough to have the travel cot up and still have room to move around and plenty of storage space. Bathroom very clean. Bed was not a huge double but comfy and lovely bedding.

Only 5 mins walk to the centre / harbour and really close to sea views and parks etc.

Would go back again as we feel 2 nights is not enough to see Whitby! Thanks :)

Room Tip: The double room was big enough for families with just a baby -easily fit a travel cot inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra_W79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you are going to Whitby for a break you must check out Rosslyn House. It is perfectly located for exploring Whitby on foot. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with all the amenities you would expect to find. A warm and friendly welcome await from Jo and Patsy when you arrive with nothing too much trouble for them. A superb breakfast with plenty of choice set you up for the day so that we found that we could skip lunch altogether.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Jo and Patsy were so welcoming to me and my elderly parents. Their guesthouse has everything you need, and we felt at home straight away passing the gorgeous patio garden. We went for fossil collecting which meant a very early start with the tides so they made us some delicious BLT sandwiches in addition to putting our cereals and yogurts.

If in Whitby check out www.RomeroJos.com, Costa Rican food - makes a change from all the fish and chips, and it blew us away with tasty!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavvymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just returned home from a short 2 night break at the Rosslyn guest house, it's the first time my partner and I have stayed there and I must say it will not be the last. Jo and Patsy are wonderful hosts and made us instantly feel at home from the moment we walked through the door. The rooms are lovely, very clean and comfortable with en-suite facilities - complete with pretty toiletries (soap/body wash and shampoo). The choices for your breakfast are amazing and the breakfasts are Moorish. The area is lovely and if you sit outside in the pretty courtyard garden you can see Whitby Abby - lovely view. Close to all of Whitby's attractions, in my opinion you will not find a nicer place or more accommodating wonderfully proud hosts. Would we go back ? I should say so, we loved it and Jo and Patsy.
Thanks for being very understanding both of you - hope to see you again soon xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn House

Property: Rosslyn House
Address: 11 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosslyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 Star, Silver Award, guesthouse. Quality accommodation in large newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms in a central location on West Cliff. Free Wifi and Parking Permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosslyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing