We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed and very friendly.”
Review of Rosslyn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosslyn House
Ranked #8 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Great location, lovely owners. we were greeted by 2 lovely ladies who obviously enjoy what they do, spotless clean and a great breakfast included, we only stayed one night and instantly knew we would return, great value and only a 3 minute walk to the sea front.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just returned after a 3 night stay at Rosslyn. Excellent accomodation, the room was comfortable, clean + well appointed.+ the full english breakfasts were superb. Rosslyn is in a great location to explore whitby + Patsy + Jo are very friendly + couldn't have been more helpful or accomodating. I strongly recommend Rosslyn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

To celebrate my 70th birthday in October, 2012 my wife took me on a surprise visit by train to Whitby in order to give access to the North Yorkshire Moors Railway. My wife decided on the Rosslyn Guest House as she liked the response she received when making preliminary enquiries over the telephone . As it turned out my wife's perception of our hosts was well founded as Patsy and Jo were an absolute joy, full of fun and hospitality. We could not have been made more welcome. Breakfast was taken in the very light and attractive front room with its high ceiling. On my birthday there was a 70th birthday balloon floating above our table in the bay window and a little cake with a candle. Every morning we watched the local dairyman, J. Ventress (shades of Heartbeat) deliver the milk. The house is situated in a residential area with a very wide street so there is ample room for parking for those not fortunate enough to have come by train The station is about a 6 minute taxi ride down the hill. We fell in love with Whitby. Coming from Cornwall we were surprised how attractive the area is. We hope to return one year when the NYMR is running at full strength. If so we shall have no hesitation in returning to the Rosslyn Guest House.

Room Tip: Patsy and Jo will allocate the best available at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just got back from a two night stay at Rosslyn House. We had a great time. Jo and Patsy are brilliant hosts and were great with our ten month old daughter. Our room was clean, spacious and well furnished.
The breakfast is delicious and there is plenty of choice on the breakfast menu.
A good bonus is the guest kitchen, which was handy for washing kids bottles etc.
The location is great, it is a five minute walk to the harbour/sea front.
When we return to Whitby we will be staying here.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which had plenty of room for a travel cot and loads of wardrobe space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AccyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Jo and Patsy were so nice, welcomed us and helped us with all of our bags up to our room with the baby. They also gave us great tips on where to go and where was family friendly.
The breakfast was delicious, came quickly, and was really fresh. Full Yorkshire brekky one morning and a Whitby kipper the next. They even made some special scrambled egg for the baby. They even lit a candle in a croissant for my bday :)
Double room was nice and big- big enough to have the travel cot up and still have room to move around and plenty of storage space. Bathroom very clean. Bed was not a huge double but comfy and lovely bedding.

Only 5 mins walk to the centre / harbour and really close to sea views and parks etc.

Would go back again as we feel 2 nights is not enough to see Whitby! Thanks :)

Room Tip: The double room was big enough for families with just a baby -easily fit a travel cot inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra_W79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you are going to Whitby for a break you must check out Rosslyn House. It is perfectly located for exploring Whitby on foot. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with all the amenities you would expect to find. A warm and friendly welcome await from Jo and Patsy when you arrive with nothing too much trouble for them. A superb breakfast with plenty of choice set you up for the day so that we found that we could skip lunch altogether.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Jo and Patsy were so welcoming to me and my elderly parents. Their guesthouse has everything you need, and we felt at home straight away passing the gorgeous patio garden. We went for fossil collecting which meant a very early start with the tides so they made us some delicious BLT sandwiches in addition to putting our cereals and yogurts.

If in Whitby check out www.RomeroJos.com, Costa Rican food - makes a change from all the fish and chips, and it blew us away with tasty!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavvymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.3 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 155 in Whitby
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#15 of 155 in Whitby
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#11 of 155 in Whitby
395 reviews
0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 155 in Whitby
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn House

Address: 11 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £99 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosslyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 Star, Silver Award, Bed and Breakfast. Quality accommodation in large newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms in a central location on West Cliff. Free Wifi and Parking Permits.Children over 12 years only. Check In between 15.00 and 18.00 (unless agreed in advance with proprietor). Breakfast served 8.30 to 9.00. Please specify arrival time on booking, together with mobile phone number. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Rosslyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing