We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rosslyn House
Nearby Hotels
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$321
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hudsons(Whitby)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Larpool Hall(Whitby)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
411
16
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
411
16
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bguest houseon arrivaljar of sweetsmini fridgefull englishcakefresh milkroom was spotlessa lovely stayparking permitnothing is too much troublebottled watergreat hostswarm welcomenew ownerswine glasses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have just come back from our stay in the rosslyn hotel Pat and Jo were brilliant hosts they made us feel very welcome even though we just suddenly turned up out the blue . The hotel was bright and cherry with a friendley feel and spotleesly clean , we would highly recomend this hotel and would love to stay again.Thanks Pat and Jo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Fancied a day out in Whitby and booked here for just the one night on 4th September. I had booked the ground floor single room, but on arrival had been upgraded to a double. I was a bit worried about managing the stairs as I have some mobility problems, but I took my time so it wasn't a major issue, and the room was worth it. I had been given Room 3, a lovely light, airy double room at the front of the house, with a small en-suite. The room was perfect, and honestly, spotlessly clean, with everything you would need, even an alarm clock! and ample provisions on the hospitality tray. There were toiletries, and the bed linen and towels were top quality.
A good addition to this guest house is the small kitchen for guests' use, with a fridge and microwave.
Breakfast is served in a beautifully decorated room on the ground floor, everything was laid out ready, juices, cereals, fresh fruit etc and then when you're ready, any cooked breakfast (which you order the night before). I had ordered the bacon,mushrooms and tomatoes, it was delicious and beautifully presented, in fact I can truthfully say this was the BEST cooked breakfast I have ever been served at a B&B, it just looked so appetising; then there was toast, butter & various jams, and a full pot of tea too!

Last but not least, the lovely owners, Jo + Patsy. They were very attentive to all their guests, nothing seemed too much trouble for them, and they were very apologetic about moving me to an upstairs room, but it had been fine. I had a lovely overnight stay at the Rosslyn, and would have no hesitation in staying there again, and recommending it to others.

Thank you ladies

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We went to Whitby for two nights as a present for our Wedding and stayed Rosslyn House B&B. We were greeted by the most friendliest owners ever they couldn't do enough for us, the rooms weren't quite ready so we left our cases with them and when we came back later they were ready in our rooms. The choice for breakfast was great from full English to a boiled egg accompanied by cereals, toast, fresh fruit and fruit juices or tea and coffee all cooked and served to perfection. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with a lovely en-suit, also provided was the use of the kitchenette where you could take back tack a ways or put drinks in the fridge but there was water, orange juice and tea and coffee also in there for use. we only stayed two nights but would most definitely go back again. Thank you to you both for a lovely stay.x

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned today from a 3 night bank holiday break at the Rosslyn in Whitby.
What a fantastic place to stay I cannot recommend it highly enough. Patsy and Jo are so lovely they make everyone feel so special. We were lucky to get the room, the last one they had (it was the bijou one on the GF, a small double but perfect for us). Everywhere was clean and well presented. We had booked the Pathways originally but Phil the owner contacted us to apologies for the double booking that had happened on the net and recommended the Rosslyn. So thanks to him, what a nice man we called in to thank him personally. I recommend both these hoteliers for their friendliness and accommodation.
We found some really nice places to eat too; it’s not all fish and chips! The White Horse and Griffin over the bridge just below the abbey serves some excellent dishes, also harbour side, the Moon and Sixpence and Harry’s Bar, the staff were really nice and friendly.
Such a great weekend, we are already planning our next visit for New Year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Great location, lovely owners. we were greeted by 2 lovely ladies who obviously enjoy what they do, spotless clean and a great breakfast included, we only stayed one night and instantly knew we would return, great value and only a 3 minute walk to the sea front.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews