We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rossiyn House First Class”
Review of Rosslyn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosslyn House
Ranked #7 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rossiyn House First Class”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Cannot recommend it highly enough will be booking again Catherine and friend stayed in February room first class food first class the choice of breakfast fab room e xcellent. Patsy and Jo can not be more helpfull DO NOT THINK JUST BOOK

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
207
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend at the Rosslyn and it was exemplary. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the food excellent. Our room was spotless, as was the hotel, and comfortable. We will not hesitate to return here and cannot praise the Rosslyn enough. Don't think twice, just book as you won't be disappointed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton-on-hull
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The owners of this 4 star b&b, Patsy and Jo go out of their way to produce a very warm welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for them to enhance your stay. Breakfast choice is great using local produce which is superb. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

From the warm welcome when you arrive, right on through to the heartfelt farewells, Rosslyn House cannot be beaten. Our room at the top of the house was perfect for our needs - stylish & comfortable. Jo & Patsy make you feel so very much at home & nothing is too much trouble. My sister and I cannot recommend Rosslyn House highly enough and know exactly where to say on our next visit to Whitby. Breakfasts are absolutely superb!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettyL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at Rosslyn House and couldn't fault it, rooms were spotless, hospitality tray was very well stocked and included bottled water, bed was comfortable and room spacious (top floor) with additional seating to relax. Jo and Patsy were very welcoming and helpful as we had never visited the area before. Breakfast was amazing, we both had the full English and it was cooked perfectly. Would highly recommend this B&B to others and would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Rosslyn House for one night. Wish we could have stayed longer. Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming and recommended things to see and places to eat. The location is perfect with a lovely view of the abbey from the end of the street. Excellent breakfast. All good. Will definitely return here when next in Whitby.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LMWSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Rosslyn House is extremely lovely. Patsy and Jo were very good hosts, and made myself and my daughter feel very welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and had everything in it that we needed. We have had a lovely little break, and its a shame we couldn't stay longer. If you have a holiday or little break in Whitby, then this lovely b and b is well recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiekenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn House

Property: Rosslyn House
Address: 11 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosslyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 Star, Silver Award, guesthouse. Quality accommodation in large newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms in a central location on West Cliff. Free Wifi and Parking Permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Rosslyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing