We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless clean, great food and great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosslyn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosslyn House
Ranked #7 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Spotless clean, great food and great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Stayed for 2 nights, 8th Oct to 10th Oct with 2 family members. Jo and Patsy our hosts were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel itself was spotless clean, and centrally located but on a quiet street which is ideal for a good nights sleep! There was a great choice available for breakfast. Will be back in the future and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sezeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
206
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

I stayed at the Rosslyn House for two nights last weekend. There are so many hotels & guest houses in Whitby, it's difficult to know which one to pick but I'm glad we picked this one. Situated on a quiet street which directly faces the Abbey on the opposite side of Whitby, the hotel is ideally situated for all amenities yet is in a quiet location. We stayed in the family room (3 adults) which was spacious and light. Room was en-suite with tv and tea making facilities and the whole place was exceptionally clean. There was a guest kitchen where you could store your wine!! There was a good choice of food for breakfast, with any combination of ingredients possible - not simply your standard fry up. The proprietors were really friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough to make your stay a good one.
One other plus point - there is lot's of free parking on teh streets al around the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiTreaclemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

lovely clean rooms and a delicious well cooked and presented breakfast. Our hosts was very friendly and nothing too much trouble. I would recommend this to any one and hope to return in the future

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cook4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

I was travelling alone for a few days and then joined by my partner. Patsy and Jo were extremely friendly and helpful. I felt really at home. Loved the idea of a guests' kitchen as then I didn't have to eat out all the time. My room was very comfortable , and my bedding request dealt with, no problems.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed for 2 nights - Jo & Patsy made us feel incredibly welcome, even looked after the luggage & parked the car! Room was stylish, not a spot of dust to be seen, bed was a dream with Eygptian cotton sheets and range of pillows to suit your requirements. En-Suite facilities were immaculate with designer soaps & hair products abundant. Breakfast was a feast! The fresh fruit salad to start & any combination of cooked breakfast - nothing too much trouble. Good selection of local 'things to do' found in the guest kitchen (& if you got the 'munchies' at midnight). Very friendly place, with great owners who will make your stay a memorable one! So book the Rosslyn! You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggles2olney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

I have no hesitation in reccomending Rosslyn House. patsy and Jo are great. The place is spotless, and the food very nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scipio777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

This is hotel is spotless. The rooms and communal areas are exceptionally clean. The room has Sky TV, which was a nice surprise. The breakfasts are lovely with a wide variety of things to choose from. All condiments are brand names, HP, Heinz , Nescafe, Ringtons etc which makes a change from cheap things provided in most hotels. Jo and Patsy are very helpful and personal. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn House

Property: Rosslyn House
Address: 11 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosslyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 Star, Silver Award, guesthouse. Quality accommodation in large newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms in a central location on West Cliff. Free Wifi and Parking Permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosslyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing