We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in whitby.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haven Guest House
Ranked #31 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A haven in whitby.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great small little guest house in a wonderful setting in the beautiful seaside town of whitby.
Chris & stevie were very welcoming & the rooms were small but very clean & tidy, after a very comfortable nights sleep we were treated to a fantastic breakfast & a very warm thank you & goodbye.
Would highly recommend this small friendly guest house for a pleasant break.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    49
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
338
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed one night here recently "en route" to the Yorkshire Dales - having stayed last year for a few nights. It is a welcoming place with lovely breakfasts. We had a room overlooking the harbour and it was fine. We were a little thrown by the new parking regulations but don't be put off as Stevie can provide a permit. We hadn't realised this so parked on long-stay car park on West Cliff which was fine but a little way to walk. It seems a park and ride car park is being built on the outskirts of town - seems a shame really as we have never had any problems parking in the past.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werribee, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Room was very small, but clean and at the back of the hotel with views across roof tops. When I booked I enquired about being able to provide a gluten free breakfast, as I have coeliac disease and assured that would be provided. However, upon arrival I was told it was too late in the day for them to organise food for me. This was disappointing, but luckily I did have some food with me.

Room Tip: If you're looking for spacious rooms, then you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

stayed here again for a weekend break with friends. as usual great welcome, great room, great food, great place, what more can i say will be back again stevie and staff treat everyone like friends i have already reccomended to my friends will be back soon

Room Tip: select sea /harbour veiw room for the best veiws of whitby you could wish for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lovely, stunning sea views. Location is lovely. Breakfast is cooked fresh everyday. The owners cannot do enough for you and make you feel extremely welcome. Rooms are spotless and cosy.
Only a stones throw from the town and the beach. Wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExBrummieLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Whenever I visit Whitby, I stay here as its lovely. Pretty location with a view over the whole town and to the Abby just a few meters walk infront of The Haven. Its like a second home and I love it. The rooms are luxurious and owners pay attention to you as people rather than pound signs.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Pleasant and well located, really enjoyed the breakfast! The location is spot on, only a very short walk to the harbour front. Very clean and welcoming, the owners could not do enough for us, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper House
Sandpiper House
#13 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#138 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#8 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#123 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Guest House

Property: Haven Guest House
Address: 4 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury guest house on the west cliff at Whitby, managed by the owners Chris & Stevie Connell. Close to all amenities. King size fourposter beds & sea views, all rooms ensuite, Memory foam mattresses on some beds, WiFi available, welcome trays and flat screen TVs in every room, full English breakfast included. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haven Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing