We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newbiggin Hall Cottages
Ranked #20 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This review comes after our second visit to Newbiggin and it won't be our last. This is the sort of place you find and never let go!
We stay in The Granary, the cottage at the far end for 2. Both times we've arrived the cottage is spotless! It is, by far, the best cottage we've ever stayed in for this reason. I normally feel I should wash the pots before I use them at most of the other cottages we've stayed in over the years but here, I think the respect from the previous guests just shows how people feel when they stay here.

The cottages are perfectly situated for peace and tranquility and you can walk straight from your cottage on to several fantastic walks.

The Granary is always lovely and warm with the underfloor heating (so nice to be able to walk round in bare feet after a hard walk) and, when you arrive, there's always a tray of tea, milk and sugar with a selection of biscuits, a bowl of sweets and a bottle of wine.

They also supply washing up liquid, hand wash, tea towel and all the utensils you need for cooking - just don't forget your bath towels like we did....ooops! Tina saved us though, thank you!

And you can't write a review for this place without mentioning Tina and Robin, the owners, who live alongside the cottages - they are just lovely! Always happy to say hello and have a chat, they really make your stay welcoming and comfortable.

Thank you Tina and Robin for your wonderful cottage - see you next year! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittyfisher2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London/colchester found.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

You certainly will not be disapointed visiting here....Superb owners, excellent cottages and so silent, its all quite amazing. We ( dog included) cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Our first stay in this wonderful cottage was in September 2009. We visited again this September and were delighted to find it was as comfortable and welcoming as the first time.
This is the epitome of absolute comfort and tranquility. I truly thought I would have to be dragged kicking and screaming from this wonderul place.

Wonderful walks and superb scenery. The views from the french doors in the cottage are second to none. We will be going back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndylou186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon avon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed at the Acorn cottage.
We loved this hotel. Everything was clean and tidy an it was surrounded by beautiful countryside. There are some lovely places to walk your dog. The surrounding beaches were fabulous. It was lovely and quiet and everything was nicely set out. All of the bedding was pristine, the bins had been emptied and nothing was left untidy when we arrived.

Over all, a fabulous stay. We will probably visit again and would recommend Newbiggin Hall to anybody who loves Yorkshire and the countryside!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed in Acorn Cottage last Christmas,and we have stayed there on previous occasions. We also stayed in Cedar Cottage once.
We will keep going back as these cottages are spotless,warm,and in a beautiful location. Tina and Robin are always so nice and welcoming and always make time to check your holiday is going well. There's always a bottle of wine in the fridge when you arrive,along with milk,tea,coffee,sugar and biscuits.
We are going back this Christmas again and can't wait.Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitbybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I stayed in Cedar which has 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms which was ideal for us. The accomodation was warm, clean and very spacious. The kitchen had all the utensils we needed to cook a roast dinner and there was always plenty of hot water for the washing up. Ah yes the washing up.........why wasn't there a dish washer? There were 5 of us and I felt we were always at the sink. There was however a washing machine which was not required and anyway, no where to hang wet washing. My only other little quirk was that the heated towel rail in the wet room didn't seem to work which made this room cool and univiting. The shower was great though. The situation was great and we ate at the 2 lovely pubs in Egton. Would definately come again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungry29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.8 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#52 of 151 in Whitby
112 reviews
2.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,017 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
246 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
52 reviews
3.9 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#3 of 52 in Whitby
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbiggin Hall Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbiggin Hall Cottages

Property: Newbiggin Hall Cottages
Address: Newbiggin Hall Farm Newbiggin Hall | Aislaby, Whitby YO21 1SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbiggin Hall Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing