We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newbiggin Hall Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newbiggin Hall Cottages
Ranked #22 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We booked a spur of the moment last minute break and certainly came up trumps.
Lovely big rooms, great views, quite and very very relaxing.
Really dog friendly, individually enclosed gardens and great walks.

Emma, Paul & Charlie dog.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbirdy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The reviews went a long way to selling us on Newbiggin Hall,and the 3 bedroom Cedar cottage was ideal as we were looking to take with us my elderly mother-in-law, who isn't too mobile. You have to bear in mind that prices here are very reasonable even in peak periods, so it was great to find all bedrooms with ensuites, and the walk-in shower in the downstairs bedroom was brilliant for Mum.
You can sit outside front and back with great views either side, and on a sunny afternoon such as when we arrived, that was the very first thing we did, with huge anticipation. Of course the farm is off the beaten track, but that is how you get all the grouse, pheasants, deer almost on your doorstep - we didn't dare let our dog off the lead all week, though the walks were lovely.
The cottage itself was very comfortable, with everything we needed for our stay. It's as well to remember that mobile reception can be patchy, so best to warn potential callers, and no internet connection took a bit of getting used to, but I did say it was peaceful.
You are between the small villages of Aislaby and Egton, each of which has a pub/restaurant. We can certainly recommend a visit to the Wheatsheaf in Egton which was advised to us by the couple next door who have been coming to Newbiggin Hall for 10 years.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank davebellmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Our second visit for a working week away. Once again the hospitality was truly great and the countryside a welcome break.

Tina & Robin keep the place spotless. We booked the Granary which is just nice for myself and my wife to work from for a week.

In short this is a great retreat with access to good walks and the lovely town of Whitby.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danziger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This review comes after our second visit to Newbiggin and it won't be our last. This is the sort of place you find and never let go!
We stay in The Granary, the cottage at the far end for 2. Both times we've arrived the cottage is spotless! It is, by far, the best cottage we've ever stayed in for this reason. I normally feel I should wash the pots before I use them at most of the other cottages we've stayed in over the years but here, I think the respect from the previous guests just shows how people feel when they stay here.

The cottages are perfectly situated for peace and tranquility and you can walk straight from your cottage on to several fantastic walks.

The Granary is always lovely and warm with the underfloor heating (so nice to be able to walk round in bare feet after a hard walk) and, when you arrive, there's always a tray of tea, milk and sugar with a selection of biscuits, a bowl of sweets and a bottle of wine.

They also supply washing up liquid, hand wash, tea towel and all the utensils you need for cooking - just don't forget your bath towels like we did....ooops! Tina saved us though, thank you!

And you can't write a review for this place without mentioning Tina and Robin, the owners, who live alongside the cottages - they are just lovely! Always happy to say hello and have a chat, they really make your stay welcoming and comfortable.

Thank you Tina and Robin for your wonderful cottage - see you next year! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittyfisher2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/colchester found.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

You certainly will not be disapointed visiting here....Superb owners, excellent cottages and so silent, its all quite amazing. We ( dog included) cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Our first stay in this wonderful cottage was in September 2009. We visited again this September and were delighted to find it was as comfortable and welcoming as the first time.
This is the epitome of absolute comfort and tranquility. I truly thought I would have to be dragged kicking and screaming from this wonderul place.

Wonderful walks and superb scenery. The views from the french doors in the cottage are second to none. We will be going back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndylou186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed at the Acorn cottage.
We loved this hotel. Everything was clean and tidy an it was surrounded by beautiful countryside. There are some lovely places to walk your dog. The surrounding beaches were fabulous. It was lovely and quiet and everything was nicely set out. All of the bedding was pristine, the bins had been emptied and nothing was left untidy when we arrived.

Over all, a fabulous stay. We will probably visit again and would recommend Newbiggin Hall to anybody who loves Yorkshire and the countryside!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#1 of 48 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Captain Cook's Haven
Captain Cook's Haven
#4 of 48 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbiggin Hall Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbiggin Hall Cottages

Property: Newbiggin Hall Cottages
Address: Newbiggin Hall Farm Newbiggin Hall | Aislaby, Whitby YO21 1SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbiggin Hall Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing