We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage and location”
Review of South House Farm

South House Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South House Farm
Ranked #23 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and location”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very well equipped cottage and idealy placed for walks from home and further afield.
Whitby only ten miles away where all ammenities are to be found, a large sainsburys on the out skirts.
There is a YHA just up the road at Boggle hole which does meals and has a small bar which is very handy.
The owners are very friendly and there if you need them but are not the sort to interfere.
Well worth a visit, will hopefully be back again soon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank minimaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaltenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This was our second stay in Mill Cottage and even the weather cooperated this time around. The location is ideal for those wishing to spend a quiet relaxing time away from the hustle and bustle of Whitby and yet still be within easy reach by car, approx. 30 mins. The new Sainburys located just before entering Whitby was a great asset as it meant not having to go to Scarborough to do our main shopping. There are plenty of pleasant walks along the beach or headland around Robin Hoods Bay. The cottage is well equipped with a large and comfortable bed. The bathroom has a walk-in shower unit. Nealia made us feel most welcome and it certainly helped us enjoy our stay. Would recommend this self-catering accommodation anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Extremely tranquil and a must for walkers. We had a young baby so walks out with the pram were not very practical but we we went to Filey,Whitby, and Robin Hoods Bay which are all short drives away. The cottage definitely requires some new carpets and kitchen flooring, they were quite old and grubby. BBQ and most kitchen appliances present, well worth a visit. Please be awa no WIFI :(

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked Stable Cottage for a short break at the start of July and had such a wonderful time we're already planning our return. The owner, Nealia, is a very hospitable and welcoming lady, all communication before we arrived was easy and the whole process was very pleasant. The cottage was beautiful, set on a quiet working farm. Very peaceful area but only a 5 minute walk from the beach (which has a youth hostel serving coffee and food), and about 20 minute from the picturesque village of Robin Hood's Bay. We had our own private garden (BBQ provided), a beautiful well equipped kitchen, very spacious lounge area and the double room had gorgeous sea-view. The cottage is very comfortable, with an excellent balance of modern furnishings and finishes against the traditional feel of the building (to a much higher standard than some of the other cottages we considered!). Would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to escape to the country whilst remaining close enough to civilisation to be able to wander into town when it suits them. I would however agree with the comment below that the clifftop walk to Robin Hood's Bay is up a steep path, be prepared for the walk! Also the steps to the bedrooms in the cottage are narrow and quite steep, possibly not ideal for little ones, and although there is a village shop nearby your closest supermarket is a 20 minute drive away. Still I personally consider the standard of the cottage and it's beautiful location to be well worth the trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pidnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Spent a long weekend in May. Lucky with the weather. The location is great, down a winding country lane. Once at the cottage there is a walk down to the beach (uphill on the way back though!) It's about a 20 min walk to Robins Hood Bay along the cliff - but be warned it is quite a steep climb up to the cliff path. You can also walk along the beach to Robins Hood Bay but you have to be aware of the tides. Robins Hood Bay is beautiful - very quaint. We stayed in Orchard Cottage, there were just two of us - it does accommodate 4 plus cot. The accommodation was first class. The owners website does not do the place justice and they should really update their pictures.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquelineJawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
2.2 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Boggle Hole
YHA Boggle Hole
#1 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ravenscar House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South House Farm

Property: South House Farm
Address: South House Farm Mill Beck | Fylingthorpe, Whitby YO22 4UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Hotel Class:4 star — South House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing