We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Clean friendly and relaxed"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia Guest House
Ranked #78 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed for two nights with our dog. It was lovely to have arrived to a very welcoming and friendly host Sarah. Room was very clean with all the amenities. Sarah provided us with lots of local places to eat and drink that were dog friendly. The Magnolia is a short walk from the centre of town. We were made to feel very welcome by Sarah, Ian and their daughter Lilly-Belle (who makes excellent cup cakes - thanks Lilly-Belle). Breakfast was very good and set us up for the day. Would definitely recommend a stay at the Magnolia and we shall be returning asap.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over the Easter weekend. Sarah and Ian were very welcoming and friendly. They welcomed our little dog Millie so much that their daughter Lily-Belle fell in love with her. Sarah recommended a lovely Italian Restaurant in the town called 'Moutreys' and said it was ok to leave Millie in the room for a few hours. She even lent me her GHD's as I'd forgotten mine! The Restaurant was amazing!! Our room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfy! Fantastic Full English Breakfast served with a smile and even homemade muffins made by Lily-Belle! thank you! The location was near the town centre and 10 minutes walk from the beach. We will certainly be returning later on in the Year! Thank you Sarah, Ian & Lily-Belle for welcoming us into your home! Debbie, Stev & Millie moo xxxx

Room Tip: We had room 2 which was south facing so it was lovely to sit in the bay window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Staying here at the moment this is our second night Sarah Ian and there lovely daughter are very welcoming the room is lovely and very clean plenty of room for Me my partner and our two dogs breakfast was lovely and was nice to chat to Sarah after about the area she even gave us a sausage for our dogs which they loved I would defiantly come back here and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazzlybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for the night we were greeted by Sarah the owner who was very friendly and welcoming .
Our room was lovely and clean very comfy bed had all the amenities.
Very close to the sea front and all the shops.
Breakfast was really nice and once again the owners were really nice.
Would defiantly come again no complaints
:)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annielewis0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This guest house was lovely. We took our dog for a holiday and he was accepted in the guest house, and even given a sausage for breakfast!! Ideal for a 1 night stay and so close to all the attractions...
Thank you so much ...
Smoochers
Xx

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smoochers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This traditional seaside B&B had all the things you would look for, warm, clean very friendly, Sarah was very chatty and welcoming, hot fresh breakfast..... and DOG friendly. Sure it needs a little updating, but dont we all .........nice central location, Sarah knows lots of places to recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

lovely two night stay, the owner owner could not do more for you
for example the shower in our room was faulty during our stay which we explained to the owner which he immediately came and tried to fix the problem. unfortunately he couldn't so instead of leaving us without a shower we were move to one of the bigger rooms without any extra charge. which i have to say was a lovely room which couldnt be more welcoming

breakfast was a full English which was very well cooked with a selection of cereals and toast before hand. coffee, tea and orange juice was also provided .

i would recommend this guest house to anyone

Room Tip: room 1 on the first floor, cant go wrong :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Discovery Accomodation
Discovery Accomodation
#98 of 152 in Whitby
816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Europa
Europa
#63 of 152 in Whitby
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Guest House

Address: 16 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing