We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia Guest House
Ranked #74 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“10/10”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We chose this place because it was doggy friendly. Ian welcomed us at the door and gave us a full virtual tour of Whitby landmarks in minutes which helped us plan our day.
I have never met such a friendly, enthusiastic host.
We will definitely stay there again and cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: We had room 3 - first floor which is a small room on the front of the property - a wardrobe is provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
83
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We selected this guesthouse because it was listed as dog friendly and it most certainly is. We arrived around lunchtime and Ian was there to meet us - he is easily the most enthusiastic guest house host we have ever come across - within half an hour we knew where everything was, both in the B&B and Whitby.
The location is superb, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are wonderful, you can build your own and nothing is too much trouble for Ian.
Whitby is a friendly and picturesque town and myself, my wife and our border collie Rio will definitely go back, both to Whitby and the Magnolia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The morning I was due to arrive in Whitby for my best friends wedding I was let down by another B&B. I chose the Magnolia as it was advertised as dog Friendly.
Despite being very last minute they managed to get a room for myself, husband 15 month old and puppy. I told them we should be arriving at 8pm as we were coming from London. After the journey from hell where huge sections of the motorway were closed we arrived at 01:45 in the Morning!!!!
Bless Ian he stayed up to wait for us, helped us bring in our cases and dog bed etc. and made sure we had everything we needed. Including a snack and dog bowls with water.
Room was very clean. Bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Cooked breakfast in the morning was perfect, very attentive and friendly service.
When leaving helped my husband getting puppy, baby and luggage in the car (harder than it sounds!)
Would recommend 100% and will definitely book again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0sc0e85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is our second stay in as many years at the Magnolia, and nothing has changed - it remains excellent. Sarah and Ian are the perfect hosts, leaving you to have a great time and not fussing all over you and watching your every move.

We descended upon them this time with other members of our family, 6 of us in three rooms. We also asked for 6 very different breakfasts each morning, and each one was delivered perfectly with no problems.

We will be back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggy_Boy_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We chose this b&b because it was dog friendly and gay friendly! What a good choice this was. Sarah was fantastic and very welcoming on our arrival. She showed us to our room that was clean and spacious. She also recommended restaurants and places to visits etc. We found her to be informative and chatty which came over as natural and sincere. We had breakfast next morning which was delightful and the owners Sarah and Ian were excellent host to ensure that we had a pleasant stay. We would definitely recommend this b & b.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganapatidavid_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

well, what can I say this guest house was so welcoming as we arrived we was met by Ian who showed us to our room took us through were every thing was and the times for breakfast the room was spotlessly clean the bed was king size and very comfortable the breakfast was first class a real home from home atmosphere I would highly recommend the magnolia to any its a must give it a try we will be going back there asp. john, and Julie

Room Tip: get there early so you can get your car parked up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Not many places can accommodate a family of 5 and a dog but this place did with ease. We had use of three attics rooms and bathroom so it was a bit like a flat. The rooms were big enough for all of us and the place was very clean. The only potential negative would be in hot weather I imagine these rooms would be very hot.
The rooms were up 4 staircases so that burnt off a few breakfast calories. The breakfasts were great and modified to suit my childrens tastes.

Ian was very attentive when I phoned to book and Sarah looked after us during our stay and immediately made everyone feel relaxed.

The location is near the pavilion but is within easy walking distance (if you don't mind hills) of all of Whitby. The street had great views of the Abbey.

Parking was an issue although there is a public car park nearby. We were fortunately able to park on the street right outside but that was definitely lucky and not to be expected.

We had a great stay and would recommend the b&b to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 151 in Whitby
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wentworth Guest House
Wentworth Guest House
#99 of 151 in Whitby
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blencathra Guest House
Blencathra Guest House
#71 of 151 in Whitby
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waverley
The Waverley
#26 of 151 in Whitby
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Guest House

Property: Magnolia Guest House
Address: 16 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing