We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia Guest House
Ranked #73 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Upon arriving we were met with a very friendly welcome from Ian. Our room was spacious with a generous supply of tea, coffee and biscuits. Breakfast (full English for the other half and myself) was excellent, with a good variety of choice, all made to order, fresh juice, fresh coffee, cereals etc. we're readily available.
Ian and Sarah welcomed us and our dog Bob and made us feel right at home (we genuinely didn't want to leave). Everything was super clean and super efficient throughout or stay. We have planned to go back and have already recommended the Magnolia to several of our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill-loves-bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I along with our dog stayed at the Magnolia guest house for 3 nights the end of January, great place. Room was lovely and cosy with en suite. The owner Ian is a great guy, very friendly, open and honest. Great value, delicious breakfast, we loved our stay and will deffo come back again. I'd recommend a stay here anytime of the year

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AndyMac_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

What a wonderful stay when we visited this lovely guest house for a much deserved R and R.
Day one, we were met by Ian who showed myself, husband and little dog to our room for the next 3 nights, it was clean, tidy and was laid out with a very welcome supply of tea, coffee and sugar....milk and lots of it... plus biscuits.The room was warm and welcoming and instantly you are made to feel at home and are made to feel very welcome. In the age of faceless establishments the key to the success of this lovely place, are the family behind the scenes and front of house who are working together to give you a very happy stay. We had a good nights sleep and on arrival in the breakfast room...Ian wanted to give you a hearty breakfast to start you on your way for the day. And guess what....our little dog got breakfast too.....a breakfast sausage wrapped in foil so he also could enjoy a good start to the day. Fresh towels were immediately given after slight accident with shower...and Ian immediately put me at ease after nearly flooding the establishment. We have enjoyed our stay immensely and we are booked in to return again in the near future. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I made a last minute booking for two nights at Magnolia Bed and Breakfast.
Very welcoming and friendly, both on the phone and upon arrival. Rooms basic but very comfortable, clean and good value.
They don't just accept dogs to stay, they positively welcome them (even sneaking my pooch a breakfast sausage!!).
Lovely breakfast with a good choice.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bocster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Called on spec having belatedly decided that the period between Hallowe'en and Guy Fawkes' night was a touch too cold for a draughty camper van; the offer of a small room for £35 a night was too good to refuse! Still big enough for a comfy double bed and (tiny) en suite and the breakfast was far better than it had a right to be at that price. Wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arapaho94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is our second stay here along with our little doggie Clyde, both Sarah and Ian are fantastic and friendly hosts could not do enough for us, will definitely stay here again and would recommend this guest house to anyone who wants a little break in Whitby and want to be looked after.

Thanks to you both.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyde810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We chose this place because it was doggy friendly. Ian welcomed us at the door and gave us a full virtual tour of Whitby landmarks in minutes which helped us plan our day.
I have never met such a friendly, enthusiastic host.
We will definitely stay there again and cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: We had room 3 - first floor which is a small room on the front of the property - a wardrobe is provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Discovery Accomodation
Discovery Accomodation
#99 of 152 in Whitby
815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Europa
Europa
#60 of 152 in Whitby
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Guest House

Address: 16 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing