We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class guest house with a warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia Guest House
Ranked #78 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed at the Magnolia Guest House last weekend (May Day Bank Holiday) for two nights.
The guest house was spotlessly clean and the owners, Sarah and Ian, made us feel very welcome.
Our en suite room was well decorated and quiet and the bed very comfortable.
We had an excellent breakfast and we look forward to visiting Whitby and the Magnolia again!
Parking was in the street right outside with no problem.
We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappydaysWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2010

My friends and I recently arrived back from the April Whitby Goth weekend event having booked a two night stay at the Magnolia guest house. We arrived unexpectedly early to a warm welcome from one of the guest house owners, who was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Our accommodation was the attic section of the guest house which was scrupulously clean, homely and well equipped; television, tea and coffee making facilities etc. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning (we opted for full English, as always!) Both owners were really pleasant and approachable, we really did feel at home and hope to go back in October. :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gothchick92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We visited Whitby in April 2010 for my mum's 70th Birthday. We booked into the Magnolia B&B and would highly recommend it. Great welcome received from Ian and Sarah. And the location is just ideal. We will definately return again and thank you again for the very warm welcome...PS: The breakfast was also great!!! See you soon.
The "Hargreaves" family, LEEDS

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne4112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

My Husband and I booked for 1 night on the 5th Dec for a short break.Sarah was very friendly and welcomed us like old friends.The guest house has recently been taken over by Sarah and her husband and they were starting to make thier own stamp on the place.Our room was a ground floor room and very comfortable although decor was a little tired however I am sure that will soon be rectified by the new owners.We took a bottle of wine and Sarah put it in her fridge to chill and brought it back to us in an ice bag and corkscrew a lovely touch.Breakfast was very tasty and in a lovely decorated dining room.I am sure my husband and I will return to the Magnolia when we have a return visit to Whitby

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

The Magnolia B&B Guest House
is only two to three minutes walk to the cliff lift for access
to Whitby Beach, and five to ten minutes walk to Whitby
Town Centre, the beautiful historic Whitby Harbour
& 'Old Whitby'.
Accomodation was very clean and well looked after.
Good breakfasts.
Well presented excellent accommodation, a credit to the proprietors,
we will return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Discovery Accomodation
Discovery Accomodation
#98 of 152 in Whitby
816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Europa
Europa
#63 of 152 in Whitby
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Guest House

Address: 16 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing