We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crispins Dronfield Sheffield”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia Guest House
Ranked #65 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crispins Dronfield Sheffield”
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Magnolia,The 1st time we could not believe we had come across a B&B that welcomed dogs and the place was spotless. We were so impressed with their friendliness that we decided to repeat the experience and took our 8yr old springer yet again. The breakfast was delicious and ample,the bed linen clean and our room was very well decorated. Sarah & Ian made us very welcome and we will definitely go back soon

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fletcherjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
81
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I'm writing this nearly a year on purely out of idleness but as we're looking at going back to Magnolia I thought I'd creep a little...

We went to Robin Hoods Bay with the intention of camping but failed miserably to put up the tent in the torrential rain and gale force winds. We gave up and headed into Whitby to try and find a bed.

We turned up in Whitby soaking and cold and in need of somewhere to stay for Thurs & Fri night. Nowhere had any vacancies and if they did it was for one night only. We turned up at the Magnolia and got the same story from Ian. However, Ian was more than happy to recommend other places to stay. After trying these with no joy we headed for the car just as Ian opened the door of the Magnolia. He was about to come and look for us and offer us a solution. We happily and gratefully accepted. I’ve never been happier for a roof and a shower.
We’ve never stayed in a B&B before but would happily go down this route again if only they were all half as good as the Magnolia. We met Sarah in the morning at brekkie and she was wonderful. Happy, pleasant, funny and accommodating. Our stay at the Magnolia has changed our minds about B&Bs and I highly recommend it.
I could rant all day about the friendliness of the hosts and the B&B but that’d mean I neglect to say anything about the location and the free parking. Absolutely ideal for the centre of Whitby.
We have come to love Whitby and will be back. We’ll always look at camping first but if that fails, and part of me wants it to, we’ll definitely be calling by the Magnolia.
Thanks for everything.
Andy & Lucy

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andysmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

my husband, two small children and i stayed in this geust house on the 24th june for one night. the guest house is very close to the beach and centre of whitby. the owners were lovely and more than happy to help with directions. with booking the room at short notice we had three single beds they were happy to help us push two of the beds together.
they catered for our diet which was lovely.
we would come back to whitby again and will stay at the magnolia. it was so close to everything all we had to do was park the car outside the geust house and walk down the road. whitby was lovely to visit. if you go make sure you have fish and chips from the magpie cafe. we got take away fish and chips and ate them by the beach but they were the best fish weve had in a long time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemyholidaysalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingdom of fife
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We hadn't booked anywhere, and had already tried a few (massively overpriced) establishments nearby. Couldn't be more pleased when we arrived at Magnolia. Ian and Sarah are fantastic hosts, and their guest house far exceeded our expectations. Our room was lovely, clean and comfy, and with an amazing view of the abbey. Breakfast was fresh, well-cooked and presented. Also very central location on West Cliff. We can't believe our luck in finding this place - especially at such a good price.

Whitby is chock-full of guesthouses, but this one stands above the rest. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_smurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Couldn't have asked for better accommodation for our short trip to Whitby. The service, location, room standard and overall experience for a B&B was second to none. We we welcomed by Sarah and Ian as if they'd known us for years! We will be back and have already recommended the Magnolia to other friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storey_2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed at the Magnolia Guest House last weekend (May Day Bank Holiday) for two nights.
The guest house was spotlessly clean and the owners, Sarah and Ian, made us feel very welcome.
Our en suite room was well decorated and quiet and the bed very comfortable.
We had an excellent breakfast and we look forward to visiting Whitby and the Magnolia again!
Parking was in the street right outside with no problem.
We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappydaysWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2010

My friends and I recently arrived back from the April Whitby Goth weekend event having booked a two night stay at the Magnolia guest house. We arrived unexpectedly early to a warm welcome from one of the guest house owners, who was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Our accommodation was the attic section of the guest house which was scrupulously clean, homely and well equipped; television, tea and coffee making facilities etc. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning (we opted for full English, as always!) Both owners were really pleasant and approachable, we really did feel at home and hope to go back in October. :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gothchick92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 20 in Whitby
206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wentworth Guest House
Wentworth Guest House
#102 of 151 in Whitby
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#5 of 151 in Whitby
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boulmer Guest House
Boulmer Guest House
#69 of 151 in Whitby
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Guest House

Property: Magnolia Guest House
Address: 16 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing