We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday as always!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boulmer Guest House
Ranked #75 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great holiday as always!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We've just returned from our 5th time to The Boulmer and planning our 6th trip!! It's a great b & b, Helen and Paul are great hosts, with lots of local knowledge of what to do, and where to go. The rooms are always clean, the breakfasts are great, and yes the teddy bear toast is a lovely touch!! It's in a great location, just a few minutes walk to the beach or into town. See you soon. Kerry, Ian and Bella.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    16
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
49
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Our sixth stay at the Boulmer and again we can't give praise enough.......this time we stayed in room 7, a lovely clean and spacious room....the breakfasts were excellent as usual, right down to the teddy bear toast (a nice touch!!!). In our opinion the Boulmer is a great place to stay in a lovely town and we are already looking forward to our next visit.......see you at Goth 2014.
Bob & Caz.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Booked here for long weekend in july 2013,3 adults - 3 kids.firstly it is clean, tidy and bright.the owners are very helpful, and give you lots of ideas and recommendations of whar you can see and do if you haven't been before. The rooms are clean and comfy, the breakfasts are ok, have had better.the cost for the rooms with breakfast are overpriced, ive paid the same amount in whitby and had much better, but I would still recommend it to people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baltymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Took room as a late booking but began to realise it was possibly a liitle overpriced.room was well furnished but a little expensive.
Clean but as our stay progressed issues arose; bed not always made, hospitality tray not always refilled, bathroom was never cleaned. Breakfasts were ok but relied heavily on cooked English. Wifi did not happen and along with other guests we were promised modem would be rebooted- it made no difference!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moocookiemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this B and B recently and was quite disappointed by it. Undeniably it is in quite a good location about 10 mins walk from the sea and is fairly clean. It is 'dog friendly' however the room is an attic room and not as nicely presented as the others. The shower had hardly any flow to it so took a while, and we were provided with 2 small hand towels and 2 small bath towels which were rough (and not changed until i requested. ) The shower screen was quite dirty and the toilet seat was broken. The bed was squeaky and uncomfortable and the pillows were quite flat so didn't sleep well. The hospitality tray was not great and stocked with a 2 pack of biscuits and not enough uht milk cartons! On one day we came back to find our room had not been locked (after the hospitality tray had been restocked we guessed ) which is not acceptable when belongings are left in rooms, an oversight I am sure but one that should not happen really. Breakfast was not fantastic limited cereal,tinned fruit, toast (teddy bear shaped.. ok for kids) and a small cooked breakfast consisting of one thin sausage, 1 and a half mushrooms, 2 rashers of bacon small spoonful of beans and a tomato. The vegetarian option was egg,1 and a half mushrooms and a tomato and the beans were forgotten. Whilst eating breakfast, dogs have to go in the car or there is a small area at the side of the b and b where they can go and they are not allowed to be left in the room unaccompanied. Limited parking on the road however the owner allowed us to park our car on his drive ( you are expected to leave your car keys in the event of a space on the street becoming available). Overall I feel £70 per night is vastly overpriced for the standard of the room and the breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Having read previous reviews we were a little worried what we might find but we can't find fault with this place. we wanted a family room and this was a great size, we had access to games and dvds. Paul was full of useful advice and recommendations as to where to eat, which places are family friendly, even down to tips you wouldn't have even thought about like where the toilets are on the walk to Robin Hoods Bay! Parking in Whitby is always a bit of a nightmare but thanks to Paul we were able to park across the drive, left him the car keys and he moved it to a spot just over the road when one was available meaning we could just check in and start our holiday. Breakfast was great, with a cowboy breakfast available for children should they not manage the full english. The food was good quality and locally sourced, there was plenty of choice and help yourself to fruit juice, cereals and fresh fruit, as much tea, coffee and toast as you wanted. We had a lovely time and will definitely be back. Thank you for a lovely time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meltom0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at the Boulmer in July for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised with our family room, spacious, tastefully decorated & spotlessly clean. It's ideally located for either a walk down to the harbour & shops or to the beach, parking is a bit hit and miss but it's something you'd expect being free street parking. We luckily picked one of the hottest weeks to stay! What made our stay even more enjoyable was our hosts Paul & Helen, so friendly & helpful with advice on eating out, places to visit etc. the breakfasts were lovely too! When we return to Whitby we will definately be staying at the Boulmer again. Highly recommended.
Thanks from Wayne, Rach & Megan Fuller.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#15 of 151 in Whitby
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 151 in Whitby
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Endeavour
The Endeavour
#67 of 151 in Whitby
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 151 in Whitby
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esklet Guest House
Esklet Guest House
#94 of 151 in Whitby
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#54 of 151 in Whitby
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulmer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulmer Guest House

Property: Boulmer Guest House
Address: 23 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulmer Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at the Boulmer, close to the beach, harbour, town, pavilions. We have rooms to suit all from single to large family rooms. Come and try our highly recommended breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Boulmer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing