We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and very good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monks Haven Cafe

Monks Haven Cafe
Ranked #15 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Monks Haven Café you can sit, relax and watch the world pass by along historic Church Street through our bay windows while enjoying fine, freshly ground coffee or Yorkshire tea. We serve fresh Whitby crab sandwiches, fresh Whitby cod in a beer batter and a wide selection of desserts and treats from scones to lemon and ginger crunch. We are open 7 days a week and until late on Friday and Saturday evenings.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

We have visited Whitby several times, the last being about five years ago and 14 years previous to that when our daughter was dancing at The Royal Hotel for a year. We have very fond memories of beautiful Whitby and decided to pay another visit last weekend 10th/12th September 10.
My husband and I visited Monks Haven for lunch but we were very dissapointed with the service on this day (Saturday lunch time). We had to wait over ten minutes before our order was taken and even then I had to ask one of the waiters who advised that he was not allowed to take orders. apparantly there was a new procedure where only the head waiter could take orders and to top it all he took an order from a couple who came into the restaurant after us.
We then had to wait a further 15 minutes for our order to arrive and it was only two toasted sandwiched and tea, not a complicated meal. Also while two of the waiters were eating their lunch (one being the head waiter) two customers who came into the restaurant (one a family of four) were told that they could not be served for about 15 minutes and were then told the reason was beacause of the new procedure. They of course left to look for somewhere else to eat.
I know this is a very negative review and after all the food was really nice and good value for money but Monks Haven really need to get their act together regarding service.

Helpful?
1 Thank madambutterfly_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    87
    24
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
2 reviews
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

The coffee is the best in Whitby. We go to Whitby quite frequently and never miss going in for a coffee each morning. We have also eaten at lunchtime and would rate their food very highly. Looking forward to next time already

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janemarple_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveSweetExile
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its the Best in Whitby!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

During our frequent visits to Whitby, we always go to Monks Haven Cafe, where we are ensured a genuinely warm welcome in extremely pleasant surrounding. The food from a comprehensive menu, when it arrives to our table (covered by a homely tablecloth) it is well presented and tastes amazing. Moreover, the cost of a meal or a snack is certainly not hard on the pocket. We'll be back, over and over again!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveSweetExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, UK
1 review
“Wonderful scones and strong tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

We enjoyed a lovely cream scone and lovely strong Yorkshire Tea here a few months ago on our trip to Whitby. It was a really cosy, friendly atmosphere and the food was lovely.

We'll be making a return trip in June.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattcharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good Value & Nice Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

We ate here on our first night. We were quite late arriving in Whitby(8.30pm) & there seemed to be a lack of places to eat at that time - apart from quite expensive bistro type bars / Fish restraunts or Indian restraunts, Most pubs had stopped serving food so unless you like fish (which I dont) there was not a massive choice. We stumbled upon this place, again most of the menu is fish based but they did deep filled jacket potatoes or roast beef dinner both of which I like. I opted for a potato which came with a lovely salad, it was scrummy (the most simple things usually are) my husband had scampi & chips which he said was absolutely delicious. The service was good, they have a very reasonable priced wine list so we managed to get a late evening bite (about 9pm) & a bottle of wine at a very good price (problaby at least £15 cheaper than if we had stopped off at one of the bistro style bars).

Helpful?
2 Thank lil-miss-sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkshaven, Owner at Monks Haven Cafe, responded to this review, 30 September 2009
Hi,

Thank you very much for your comments. The team and I are glad that we were able to provide you with the service and value that you were seeking.

We very much look forward to serving you again next time you're in Whitby.

Best regards,

The team at Monks Haven Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monks Haven Cafe also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Monks Haven Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing