We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food was fab!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #44 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“food was fab!!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Went here as a recommendation from a friend.
I was really impressed.
Service excellent and staff were nice.
I had steak on the stone, it really was the best steak i have ever tasted.
Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millymolly1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    39
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
113
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
218 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Went for a meal on recommendation of taxi driver. Good food and pleasant service.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen_2H20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This was the second time we'd stayed at Harry's bar, on Boxing Day night and the following night. Two very different nights in Whitby - the first, really busy, hustle and bustle of Xmas, the second, much quieter and more sedate! Room was great, food lovely as usual, just a little noisy with music from the bar. Fine if you're out most of the day, but it started about 5 oclock and went on until late both nights. Luckily we'd had a few drinks ourselves to deaden the noise! But it will make me think twice about staying again, unless the penthouse room is available, as Im guessing that might be quieter as its another floor up.

Room Tip: Pick the penthouse suite, I think it will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
379 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We chose Harry's bar because it was serving modern bistro food rather than yet more chips. We ended up staying the night.

We had the penthouse room and as a last minute booking we got a little discount. Lovely views from the spacious living room across to the church and abbey. Full range of TV and radio available via sky while we lounged on our two sofas. There's a posh coffee machine in the room which we could not figure out. The room is more like an apartment and is tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. The bed was too soft and rather squeaky otherwise this would be a five star rating.

You have to go outside and round the building to reach the bar itself for breakfast. In cold or rainy weather that might be an issue, though you can have breakfast in bed. Food at breakfast was lovely and beautifully presented. Relaxed approach with food from 9am, fine for a holiday. Service rather slow. We also had lunch and dinner here. At either meal you have a range of starter size portions, though I found a starter followed another starter with a side was more than enough. There are also lunch and dinner specials. The bar itself looks directly onto the side of Whitby fish market but from the first floor restaurant you have lovely views across the bay.

If you fancy something a bit different then either eat or stay here.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureVultureCamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at Harry's Aug bank holiday as a last minute idea, not wanting to stay in usual drab b&b.
Harry's is much nice, but u pay for it...£135 per night... But u do get £10 back if u drink / eat in the bar...recommend you put it on the room bill to help remind them.
Breakfast was good.. Muesli, tea/coffee, toast, then kippers, full eng or salmon & eggs.
Overall it's too expensive for what it is,+ no parking, and could easily be noisy.
We'd gladly go back, but wud not pay that much again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeToTravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

After looking at numerous places to stay in Whitby for my husband's birthday, we eventually settled on Harry's Bar as it looked really lovely on their website. Yes, the rooms were nice, but not as large as we were led believe as per their photo's and certainly not worth £120 per night. It advertised a lavish breakfast, but all we got was the run of the mill option, the breakfast waitress didn't even know we were booked in and so she had to lay up for us, quite slow service. We were booked in for 2nights, but after the first night of not much sleep, due to the noise outside, we decided to check out earlier, actually Garry was very nice about this. We thought it would be pretty quiet as it is the far end of the harbour, but we were wrong. No room to put your toiletries/makeup, and to dry your hair you need to pull out the unit with the coffee machine on as that is where the plug is, and the mirror.Overall we were quite dissappointed, but we loved Whitby!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubylove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We were eating in the restaurant/bar and the food was so good we decided to stay...and after one night we decided to stay again! It's right on the harbour, with brilliant views of the abbey and the sea. We had the Bellini room, which was really comfortable - it had everything you might need for an impromptu holiday and the staff were brilliant if you needed anything else. The breakfast, which we had in the room, was delicious, hot, on time and filling - with plenty of healthy options. I would definitely stay here again - it was reasonably priced, clean, in a great location, and the staff were fantastic. If I had to change something - I'd put a bigger bed in the room and have allocated parking spaces nearby - obviously, being on the harbour means you have to park a little way away, either in a residential street or a paid car park (we paid £7 per day). If this bothers you, you could always come by train, it's about a 5 minute walk from the station. The best thing about our stay here was the food in the restaurant. I will definitely eat here again, even if I don't stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sflinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbey Steps Tea Rooms B&B
Abbey Steps Tea Rooms B&B
#145 of 151 in Whitby
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highgate House
Highgate House
#56 of 151 in Whitby
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#70 of 151 in Whitby
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie

Property: Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Address: 10-11 Pier Road, Whitby YO21 3PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing