We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb find ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hatless Heron - CLOSED

The Hatless Heron
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb find ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We had just been turned away from our pub of choice as they had stopped serving food about 5 minutes before we arrived. We were getting hungrier by the minute and finding it difficult to find somewhere still serving food at 8.30pm on Bank Holiday Sunday evening that would accommodate us and our dog. A dog bowl outside caught our attention and we were pleased to find out they were serving food and had room for us. I started with a very interesting thyme flavoured beer and Mrs H had a cider. It was a toss up between burger and steak for me. The waitress recommended the steaks, so it was a 10oz rump for me cooked medium rare. Mrs H was disappointed that they had run out of lemon chicken kebabs so went for grilled chicken. The steak was succulent and tasty, cooked to perfection, accompanied by crispy onion rings and lovely chips. The chicken had a tasty chargrilled flavour. The wine choice was limited with only house wines to choose from. We went for a large red each which were entirely satisfactory. The total bill came to a few pence over £40 and we left a decent tip because the service had been super. So glad our first choice had stopped serving. We will definitely be back at the Hatless Heron soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cbh1525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    37
    25
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

During our visit to Whitby we were looking for a place to eat for lunch, we were limited to places that allowed dogs inside, it was too cold for the four of us to eat outside.
We found the Hatless Heron, the menu looked good, prices reasonable and they allowed dogs inside downstairs. We ordered a sharing platter, toasted chicken and pesto sandwich and the special 'Goth burger' for us all to share. Our drinks were served promptly and our food arrived shortly after. The food was well presented, portions were ideal and the flavours were fantastic.
My only complaint would be that there wasn't much on the children's menu, but to be fair my two (6&7) were happy to eat off the adult menu.
I would recommend the Hatless Heron to anyone, and will be visiting again when we next visit Whitby.

Helpful?
Thank independent2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stumbled upon this bistro when we couldn't find anywhere else to eat. 6 of us ate and all meals were good and very good value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Memorable meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We just spent the weekend in Whitby, and for a meal out we chose this restaurant on a whim as we passed it. It's in the old part of town on a cobbled street, and I liked the name! The menu looks a bit disjointed with the snacks running in to starters then main courses.
We went on Easter Saturday at 8pm and it was quite busy. We were shown to our table upstairs. The furniture is mismatched but in a good way, and the decor is quite quirky. The window seats look best, but were taken that evening.
We had thought about scallops, but there was a problem with the supplier apparently. We considered a sharing platter as a starter but our waiter dissuaded us, saying a shared starter of seafood would be better before our steaks. The scampi and chilli prawns were superb, and our steaks were cooked to perfection (rare and medium rare). There was no wine list just the house red, which was fine. The coffee was really good too. I would definitely recommend this place, because despite a couple of problems, the service and food were both very good, and the atmosphere is different. We need to support our independent restaurants!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank susie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theheron, Manager at The Hatless Heron, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Never judge a book by its cover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had looked in the day before and were not sure as the tables were a little small and the chairs odd, we were also unsure about the rather disjointed menu. However after a look around the town we decided that as it could seat our party of 13 upstairs in our own area we would go for it. The menu doesn't know what it wants to be and try's to cater for everything but is somehow missing something. My mother is fussy beyond belief and only wanted the gammon, that was sold out (530pm?), we asked for a chicken dinner (not on the menu) and they were more than happy to oblige. I had the Garlic chicken and my wife a burger, they were absolutely excellent. Despite the "interesting" decor the food for us all was superbly presented and perfectly cooked, after all that is what you go to a restaurant for. The service was excellent and the staff could not be more helpful (despite us being a rather fussy odd bunch). The book was better than the cover suggested.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fore F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hatless Heron also viewed

Sandsend, Whitby
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing