We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILLIANT - LOVED EVERY MINUTE A+++++++++++++++++++” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hudsons
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“BRILLIANT - LOVED EVERY MINUTE A+++++++++++++++++++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed in this B & B for our holiday and couldnt fault a thing. This place is far better than any other place we've stayed in Whitby and even up and down the coast. This is the place to go if you are wanting to treat yourself. The beds are better than the ones we have at home, slept like a babt every night. Mark and Laura were superb and the breakfast was one of the best in town. We will definately be back. Keep up the good work guys, see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wadester076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    51
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
225
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The b&b is beautifully decorated and the people are friendly but I agree with the other commentator that the attic room was disappointing. I really don't think the hotel was worth£70 per night, particularly when the little touches were missing. Similarly breakfast was a let down and it was odd to have to order the night before. Would recommend if the rate was much lower

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fletch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

My wife and I stayed the weekend in one of the newly refurbished rooms on the top floor. The room we had was large, well appointed, clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The choice of breakfast was excellent. I choose the traditional full english which was brilliant! The owners Mark and Laura are very welcoming and made our stay very enjoyable. Hudsons is well situated, being just a short walk down to the beech and old town.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovesgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just spent 3 days in whitby and choosing hudsons was the best decision we made.
we stayed in a lovely modern room with brand new en-suite on the top floor,nice breakfast with good menu selection, if you come too whitby stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ompalumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We booked a few nights at Hudsons having read a review in the Sunday Mirror about this being one of the top 10 seaside b&b's in the country. Unfortunately we were allocated one of the recently modernised attic rooms (we didn't pay extra for one of the premier rooms). Being an attic room it had a sloping ceiling and a diagonal beam through the middle of the room. I'm really clumsy and I must have banged my head at least 3 times before I remembered to keep my head down when moving about ! The room had a lovely big comfortable bed, cabinets each side and a chest of drawers. There was no wardrobe or coat-hangers so you had to either use the hooks behind the door or fold your clothes up and use the drawers (not brilliant for skirts and trousers). No table or chair so you had to sit on the bed. There was a hospitality tray consisting of tea and coffee and a nice chocolate biscuit (the biscuit wasn't replaced nor were the plastic cups, once used then they were removed so if you want a drink in the room you would need to use the mug). The bathroom was a bit of a disaster. It was really tiny, again with a sloping ceiling, an excellent shower but a really tiny sink with a shelf over it meaning that you struggled to shave or clean your teeth. Breakfast was nice and cooked to order. Parking was difficult and we had to park in nearby streets on a couple of occasions but there is a carpark at the end of the road if you wished to pay. No sound-proofing as I could hear every word next door and we couldn't keep the window open at night because of the racket the seagulls made. I think if you book one of the premium rooms then you won't be disappointed. We were disappointed because the room was barely adequate for a 3-night stay, if we were just staying the one night then it would have been OK for us. Although the bed was made up each day, the bedroom and bathroom was not cleaned at all during our 3-night stay.

Room Tip: book a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed for a couple of days for a short break, We choose Hudsons because it looked like the clean contemporary B & B we like to stay in and it was indeed when we got to our room we were happy with it.
It was clean and comfortable, breakfast was ok but no beans on offer meant it was a bit dry, but some places dont offer this i know, i will take more notice of menus when we book anywhere next time.
For the price though I have stayed in better value B &B's, we got Plastic cups in the bedroom and only 1 small toiletry shampoo/bodywash in the bathroom.
These are small things but just enough to feel that we werent getting a lot for our money.That said the owners are lovely , it was clean and very well presented no complaints there.

Room Tip: Try the rooms at the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JontyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Just had a lovely 2 day stay at Hudson's. Mark and Lorna are very welcoming and friendly hosts, who, over the last 3 years have put a lot of themselves into this very relaxing place to stay. All the rooms have their very own character and when they have completed the whole refurbishment of Hudson's it will be hard to beat. It is ideally situated quite close to the harbour but just a nice walk away from the hustle and bustle. Will look forward to returning!!
Gill & Mike Ambleside

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliekrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Property: Hudsons
Address: 30 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing