We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location,friendly welcome in Hudson's at Whitby.”
Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hudsons
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic location,friendly welcome in Hudson's at Whitby.”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

When we arrived we were welcomed and shown to our room,the owner carried our bag to the top floor.Our room was recently refurbished and tastfully done to a high standard. It is ideally located with parking in the local streets,and only 5 mins walk from the harbour where the main bars and restaurants are.The breakfast was very good and all communal areas are decorated to a high standard.One thing to consider is asking for a room on a lower floor as there are lots of steps to the 3rd floor and the seagulls are loud and lively early in the morning.overall a lovely place to stay and we definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egoodliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    53
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
230
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
darlington
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Me and my wife decided on a 1 night stay in whitby in august, we went on the motorbike and needed somewhere with secure parking, we decided to take a shot in the dark and stopped at Hudsons just to see if they new of anywhere, straight away they offered us the use of there garage, we were more than grateful, when we went inside the property it was really welcoming and warmly, if i started to tell you how nice Mark and Laura were i would fill a hundred pages for each of them, they showed us to our room which waqs at the top in the attic with a beautiful beam as a feature, the bathroom was immaculate and very modern along with the rest of the room, bed linen was beautifuly crisp and fresh, tea and coffe making facilities, cable TV and just alround perfect. Breakast was ordered the night before which was an excellent idea, the breakfast was something Gordon Ramsey would have been more than proud of and a superb full english breakfast ''exceptional'' service to boot. We decided to stay another 2 nights and even though they were fully booked they juggled things around to accommodate us, we stayed in 2 other different rooms which were absolutly impeccable by style, comfort and luxury, all rooms were classy with different features one being the Gold room with decor and furniture to compliment the look and the same being said for the Silver room. On the 3rd night of our stay when they struggled to accommodate us, they found us alterfnative accommodation at another B&B close to hand and still offered us the use of the garage for the motorbike. As a B&B the hospitality, the facilities, the surroundings and the propriorters Laura and Mark were 2nd to none and get a easy 5 star rating from us Glen and Ellie. So looking forward to returning there as soon as we get the chance again.

Room Tip: Be clear about what you want as a guest and dont whinge later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

we have visited whitby for approx 20yrs and stayed at numerous guest houses and hotels.We found Hudsons superb,the hosts made us very welcome,the bedrooms and ensuite were of 5star quality.Large comfortable beds with nice bedding and towels,

The furniture was of a high standard with a large flat screen television and tea and coffee facilities.We stayed for 3 days and realy enjoyed our time there,the cooked breakfast was delicious but must admit on the 3rd morning I was happy to have a cereal and bacon sandwich.
The hosts also were very helpfull and reliable in recommending places to eat and drink in Whitby.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked for another 3 nights in October.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alansaxton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed in this B & B for our holiday and couldnt fault a thing. This place is far better than any other place we've stayed in Whitby and even up and down the coast. This is the place to go if you are wanting to treat yourself. The beds are better than the ones we have at home, slept like a babt every night. Mark and Laura were superb and the breakfast was one of the best in town. We will definately be back. Keep up the good work guys, see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadester076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The b&b is beautifully decorated and the people are friendly but I agree with the other commentator that the attic room was disappointing. I really don't think the hotel was worth£70 per night, particularly when the little touches were missing. Similarly breakfast was a let down and it was odd to have to order the night before. Would recommend if the rate was much lower

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fletch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My wife and I stayed the weekend in one of the newly refurbished rooms on the top floor. The room we had was large, well appointed, clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The choice of breakfast was excellent. I choose the traditional full english which was brilliant! The owners Mark and Laura are very welcoming and made our stay very enjoyable. Hudsons is well situated, being just a short walk down to the beech and old town.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovesgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just spent 3 days in whitby and choosing hudsons was the best decision we made.
we stayed in a lovely modern room with brand new en-suite on the top floor,nice breakfast with good menu selection, if you come too whitby stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ompalumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,067 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Property: Hudsons
Address: 30 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing