We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll not be disappointed!”
Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hudsons
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You'll not be disappointed!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at Hudson's for a lovely long weekend and had a great time. The place was immaculate, extremely clean and stylish. The hosts were friendly and interested, yet not too overpowering. The breakfast was delicious (and the soldiers looked michelin star!!). The location is fantastic, near to local restaurants and only a short walk to the main town. You could confidently recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattBIGGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    53
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
228
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

recently stayed a single night at Hudsons in Whitby, and enjoyed the experience immensely. Whitby is a fantastic place to visit, full of naval history, and the training ground of Captain James Cook. Hudsons has been refurbished into a modern and funky theme, comfortable and large rooms, great breakfast, and the most obliging hosts. Free wifi, free street parking, (if available), tea/coffee etc, and all the TV channels. Great location, a 5 min walk into the old town. If ever back in Whitby, we will return.

Room Tip: there can be some street noise, so ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at Hudsons for three nights and found our stay just perfect! Mark and Laura were very welcoming and fantastic hosts. We were given a deluxe room at no extra charge which was an amazing room and had everything we needed (room 7). On our first morning we had a power cut and were left with no electricity for several hours, this did not effect our stay at all, we were still provided with a lovely cooked breakfast and a hot shower!
Mark and Laura had a good local knowledge and even provided us with a hand drawn map to a lovely walk to Robin Hoods Bay (recommended).
We would definately stay here again and recommend to all!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knaresborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Whitby was our metting point with friends from oxford.hudsons was our destination.!plucked from the internet,what a brilliant choice.!Mark and laura are the perfect hosts,with a wealth of knowledge of the area.The rooms were fantastic,spotless ,and the furnishings were superb.Our room was very spacious.En-suite,tea/coffee facilities,freeview tv,hairdryer,and plenty of clean towels.we particularly liked the idea of filling in your breakfast needs the day before on a small questionnaire.as for the breakfast superb(and delicious).we recommend hudsons to anyone wishing to have a complete experience in whitby.!

Room Tip: we had no problem,just ask mark and laura.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

What a breath of fresh air, a smart stylish B&B close to everything yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle. From the moment my wife and i arrived and got to our room its a WOW moment no expense has been spared on these rooms. We had a premier room with the most beautiful french style bed and a huge mirror both in a pewter colour absolutly fabulous room. We did'nt see mark & laura untill the next morning at breakfast which was gorgeous everything was freshly cooked and presented beatifully a great start to the day. Mark & Laura are a very warm and friendly couple with advice on the best places to go and on that night we had wished we taken marks advice on where to eat, but thats another story.
We had a bit of an issue the next morning concerning so other guests staying in the room above, but this issue was dealt with very quickly and that was the only negative comment i can make. every where was so clean and tidy & nothing was to much bother for mark & laura.
an absolute gem of a place cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

There is only one negative comment...I only stayed for one night! This B&B has been tastefully and stylishly decorated with free parking on the street outside. The owners were very welcoming on arrival and we felt at home right away. We were in a premier room that looked out onto the street but there was no noise and the room was stunning. Owners recommended a restaurant for our evening meal and it turned out to be a great place! Great location but you might be out of breath a little walking up the bank/stairs from the beach/pier area. The breakfast was amazing...one of the best I've had in ages and we can wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Myself and my fiancé hadn't book a B&B and arrived with the hope that we would find something suitable, near to the harbour, clean, modern, friendly and good value for money. Hudson had all this and more! We were greated with a warm and friendly welcome. They showed us around a few rooms before we made our decision. There was no pressure and no doubt that we were going to stay here. We stayed in room 11 and it was just gorgeous. We were handed the keys and they were in no rush to take any money from us. A lovely touch was the sweet jars in the reception area. There's a lot I would like to say about this B&B, but to some it up. If we return to Whitby there will be no hesitation in where we will stay. Honestly the best we have stayed in. Oh, and the breakfast was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsXx86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Property: Hudsons
Address: 30 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing