We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect!”
Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hudsons
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“perfect!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at Hudsons for three nights last weekend in order to have a few days of R&R to recharge the batteries and it was perfect.

We opted for one of the premier king sized rooms and it was just what the Dr. ordered - very comfortable; clean; and the breakfast (and choice of breakfast options) was outstanding.

The people who own and run Hudsons are friendly (without being 'in yer face') and we got the impression that they really care about making sure that their guests are comfortable and that they have an enjoyable stay.

Well done Hudsons!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieDYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    53
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
228
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a premier king size room. It is well worth paying a little bit extra for the space and luxurious comfort that these rooms offer. With the leather chesterfield settee in the room, its lovely to relax without having to sit on the bed. All the furnishings are of good quality and beautifully co-ordinated. The seagulls can be heard in the night but (unfortuneatly Hudsons have no control over that),we still slept comfortably. Excellent substantial breakfast with good choice and what a good idea to have the breakfast juice in a dispenser, much more hygienic than a jug. The whole house is spotlessly clean and Mark and Laura make you feel welcome. In our opinion there is no where else to stay in Whitby and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are very large with plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Having had a fantastic stay here before I was undoubtedly going back to Hudsons for my return trip to Whitby. Another fantastic room with a lovely comfortable bed and once again I could not resist the lovely cooked breakfast to set me up for my day walking in the Moors.
Having had another great stay I will now always return to Hudsons when visiting Whitby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Had a two night stay here, because of my unexpected arrival I had to stay in two different rooms on each night but I was equally impressed with both!

The rooms were more than comfortable and with all the facilities you would expect (and the shower was out of this world!!)

The breakfast was excellent also (contemporary yet traditionally English!?)

You couldn't meet two friendlier hosts!
Top marks to Hudsons! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at Hudsons for 2 nights in 2 different rooms. The first night we stayed in a premier king size room and the second a standard double at £95 and £75 respectively. The premier king room is not worth the increase in price. The room was located on the front of the establishment and offered nothing more than a larger tv and sofa and felt unfinished. It was also single glazed which allowed the squawking of the seagulls and locals to be heard clearly through the night. The double room although smaller was much more comfortable, located on the top floor it was quieter (double glazed) and value for money. The positives, the rooms are well decorated and co-ordinated, clean, decent cooked breakfast and hosts that are not intrusive. We felt that although Hudsons was on the whole contemporary it was missing the finer points, the hallway carpet is really old fashioned, linen bags ready for the laundry are left in the entrance, the rooms don't have plaques on the doors but sticky labels, cheap thick mugs, breakfast juice served from coffee dispensers, no sweetner available on the tables, no fresh fruit salad although fruit available, a waitress one morning served breakfast in denim hot pants and the toilet roll was the cheaper variety, no welcome information in the room, regarding breakfast time, (we forgot and couldn't find this information without speaking to the owners) options available apart from variations of a cooked breakfast and other general information regarding Whitby. Although a small chalkboard was placed on the sideboard on the second evening regarding breakfast serving times. The only other fact to note was that we were greeted by a host in a polo t shirt albeit pleasant was a little surprising. We choose to spend more than necessary for weekend breaks as we like somewhere a little bit special and for us Hudsons although, clean, easy on the eye, well located and a decently cooked breakfast, it lacked that special touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell-Boyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hudsons for 2 nights, and as frequent visitors to the area found this to be the most pleasant and contemporary B&B we've stayed in. The very warm welcome upon our arrival was matched throughout our stay by our hosts who were helpful without being intrusive ensuring all our needs were met. The breakfasts were generous with good options, served in the very modern dining area, and the room was spacious, modern and exceptionally clean and would recommend to any couples or young families looking for accommodation in Whitby. We will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Nice B&B but not sure it's worth the £100 a night which we paid. Room was amusingly 'blinging', but was clean & breakfast was nice. Although polite, our welcome wasn't especially warm. Aside from the bling in the room there wasn't really anything that was different to many other B&B's we've stayed in, obviously aside from the higher price!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wednesday18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Property: Hudsons
Address: 30 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing