We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-Class Stay”
Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hudsons
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First-Class Stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Booked Hudsons direct through their website and visited in October 2013 for a 70th birthday weekend.

On arrival, we were shown promptly to our rooms and given a choice of the ones still available. Rooms are extremely comfy, with big welcoming beds, Freesat TV, tea and coffee facilities and nice ensuite shower rooms. The rooms have clearly been decorated recently as they are very clean and modern.

Breakfast is extremely good. You are invited to put your order for breakfast in by 10pm the night before using a very simply paper slip system in the entrance hall - a system that works well and saves time and waste! The breakfast was huge (if you opted for the full works!) and included all the usual suspects and really good quality produce. It was all cooked fresh and served promptly.

Hotel is located perfectly, within a 5-10 minute walk of the seafront and close to lots of bars and restaurants. We ate in Trenchers and Hadleys fish restaurants and would highly recommend both.

In short, an excellent B+B that is better located, run and presented than many high end chain hotels!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building seem quieter. Rooms high up in the building involve a lot of stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    53
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
231
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Yes me and the wife fancied a weekend in Whitby. So we thought lets check the top hotels out on the tripadvisor. We got booked in at the No1 'Hudsons' roughly 3 weeks in advance, we were chuffed. Off we went to whitby yey. We thought the hotel had a great location, a stones throw away from pubs and shops, we got parked at the end of the street there was loads of spaces. The staff were very friendly, we got a nice warm welcome on arrival and loved our room it was beautiful. Yep the 'Hudsons' deserves to be top of the trip advisor, excellent value for money! Comfortable and clean was like home from home, well cleaner than our house ha ha. We liked there style!.... Breakfast was the best as well mm mm. Have a guess where we will be staying the next time we go to Whitby :) :) :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shearer_9186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Huge room with a very comfy bed, small shower room was clean and modern, although the fluffy towels were a bit small. Pre-ordering breakfast is a great idea and the dining room with the fire going was lovely - excellent muesli and endless coffee! We had to park a short walk away, although were able to unload outside - great convenient, clean location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzonB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We booked online very late the night before: chosen because of the reviews & rank on here. It lived up to expectations.
We were greeted by name and given all the information we needed about our stay, including where to eat & drink.

When we were shown our room, we were very pleased.
It was very clean and very comfortable (& huge!). The shower room was the most spotless, cleanest room I have ever seen!

The breakfast was excellent. We loved the idea of ordering the night before stating exactly what you want.
The full English comes with one sausage- don't be fooled! It was the best quality, largest sausage I've ever had!!

The only negative we faced was that we wanted to reuse the towels & the hooks on the door weren't effective at drying them. New towels were added to the basket anyway but it felt a waste of (hotel) resources. Yes, I have just moaned about receiving clean towels!! So that just demonstrates that there was nothing to complain about!
We stayed 2 nights. Excellent hosting, excellent cleanliness, excellent breakfast, excellent location.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gnomio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great B and B with boutique hotel touches. Good breakfasts and quality fixtures and fittings throughout. We had small but perfectly formed room on top floor which was very good value. Only concern was noise from road and we shall ask for a back room next time. Great value for exploring charming Whitby, where The Magpie and Becketts cafe still excel!

Room Tip: Go for a back room- there is noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Froggetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at Hudsons, room 4, front facing. Nice large room with plenty of space and bathroom was well equipped but only small. Excellent breakfast with decent selection. Check in was swift and we were soon settled in. Five minute walk downhill to the harbour side with a really good selection of bars, cafes and restaurants. Check our Marine, Moon & Sixpence, The Magpie, Harry's and The Golden Lion.....the latter definitely a typical real ale locals pub! Whitby surprised me, will definitely return and will definitely stay at Hudsons again. Thank you Mark and Laura.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed there Friday to Sunday. The room was very grand for a B&B with guilded mirrors and furnishings (replicas but high end stuff). The location is excellent with only a short walk into town. Mark and Laura are very friendly and the breakfast was among the best we've tasted - when I said I don't eat butter my food was specially prepared. We hardly ever stay in B&Bs most trips are split between budget style Permier Inns to the 3/4 Star chains such as Hilton or Marriot. The Hudsons is every bit as good and in fact better in some respects. Whitby is also well worth a visit fantastic for short breaks and the countryside and fishing villages in that part of Yorkshire are like a picture taken straight off a tin Marks and Spencer's Teatime Chocolate Assortments. Full marks to The Hudsons

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voxpop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#9 of 20 in Whitby
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Property: Hudsons
Address: 30 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing