We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have been before and will be back”
Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hudsons
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Have been before and will be back”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had our second stay at Hudson's 7 - 9th March 2014 and will definitely return. Having now stayed in 2 different rooms both of which are superbly furnished with what appears to be brand new and immaculate.
Laura and Mark ( the owners ) offer a very relaxed stay with breakfast that not only sets you up for the day, but could quite easily compete with far larger establishments.
Whit by is an ideal destination for long enjoyable walks and a magnificent golden sand beach.
A suggestion to Laura and Mark, don't change a thing, you have got it so right.

Room Tip: Just go there you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boomboom375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    53
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
228
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Back at Hudsons again. Room fantastic. Even the small rooms are large by b&b standards. Breakfast delicious. Best of all the warm welcome from hosts Mark and Laura. Why go anywhere else?
Martin and Ann

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xprivate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I've been meaning to write this review for ages. We stayed here in May 2012 and really enjoyed it. Beautiful rooms, lovely breakfast and really nice people.... I left my electric toothbrush behind and they were nice enough to post it to me at home.

Parking is on the road outside but we did find a space close to the B&B.

Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a very nice weekend at Hudsons, the room was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed, breakfast was lovely with a great choice. Very central location, ideal for the pavilion and harbour.. Wish we could have stayed longer..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheeky1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a really relaxing time staying for a weekend at Hudsons. The rooms are well equipped with some really nice features not found in many other B&B's. The breakfasts are all freshly prepared, with a good choice on the menu. With a location close to the top end of Town getting around is really easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puntersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield Notts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed at Hudsons for my birthday weekend 18th Oct 2013. I love coming back to Whitby & have stayed at various B&B/ hotels over the years. I have to say Hudsons has been one of the best! We had a small attic room with beams but was tastefully decorated, good quality fittings and very quiet. The shower room was small but functional with a lovely hot powerful shower. Cleanliness was excellent throughout and the double bed was extremely comfortable. Cooked breakfast was 10/10 with friendly staff & lovely open fire. Will visit again & hopefully try one of the larger rooms that we sneaked a peak at as we made our way down the stairs.

Room Tip: Attic rooms small but perfectly formed & very quiet. If staying for more than the weekend then r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John_Featherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Hudson's for four nights during Whitby Goth Weekend. We found our hosts good humoured and hospitable. Hudson's is well situated on the West Cliff, with excellent access into the town centre.

Our room was new and effectively decorated, with a great shower and small but clean bathroom. On that, we knew ours was one of the smaller rooms but we didn't mind as we were out most of the time. We had a sneaky look at a couple of the larger rooms, and they looked really nice, with lovely furnishings. Overall, our room was very comfortable and clean with a decent bed. It was good value too, considering lots of folk put their prices right up during Goth Weekend.

The breakfast was well cooked and substantial. Served promptly and with a smile.

In conclusion, we had a really good four night stay at Hudson's and would both recommend it to others and return ourselves. Thanks, just what we needed.

Dan and Zoë.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dancred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Property: Hudsons
Address: 30 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing