We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally situated B&B in Whitby well worth a visit”
Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hudsons
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Centrally situated B&B in Whitby well worth a visit”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

From the exterior, Hudsons looks like many other small hotels and B&Bs in Whitby. It is situated in a long terrace of houses close to the centre of Whitby. However, the owners have given the interior a very stylish and modern make-over. The rooms are very comfortable and chic, with small but modern shower rooms. We stayed in the standard rooms but their superior rooms looked particularly good - more spacious, with extra facilities.
The location of Hudsons is ideal - very close to both the sea and the shops.
Parking can be a problem in Whitby. Very few places have their own car park, and the council runs a parking zone scheme. However, this didn't turn out to be a problem as the owners have parking zone permits available for guests - £3 for 4 days meant we could park right outside Hudsons.
Hudsons must be one of the best places to stay in Whitby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Architect53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    54
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
232
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Purely on the basis of previous Trip Advisor Reports, we decided to stay a couple of nights at ‘Hudson’s’, in one of their more expensive rooms.

The building itself is on a Victorian terrace, just a few minutes’ walk from the centre of Whitby and all its relevant attractions.

Parking can be a problem; Mark, the proprietor called me as I was getting close and was standing outside the building as I arrived. He arranged my 4-day parking permit (£3) and even moved his vehicle so I could park in his space! Previous comments about Mark and Laura being extremely attentive are well founded.

The B & B itself has a definite ‘boutique’ feel about it – everything is well decorated, the en-suites are very well equipped (shower, not bath), and all the usual hotel type goodies are there.
Our room was huge and made for a very relaxing stay without getting under each others’ feet!
By the way there is no lift.

The local seagulls did their best to disturb sleep – well Whitby is a seaside place what do you expect?!

Breakfast was superb. Compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobbyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from our fantastic weekend away in Whitby at Hudsons, and we were absolutely blown away from the very beginning.

From parking up we were shown to our room which we can only describe as luxurious! From the widescreen TV and the gorgeous decor it was more than we could wish for, and the smell of fresh lillies from the fresh bouquet on the mantelpiece was a really nice touch. The bed was lovely and comfy and we felt really at home. There was no noise pollution and we had a fantastic sleep.

We took a late night walk on the seafront and were really impressed at the location, a minute walk from the whalebone arch and 5 minutes from the town centre where we found some really cute bars with live bands.

Breakfast was seated in a dining room where the other guests were happy and chatty and we were presented with tea, coffee, orange juice, milk ad cereal before our actual cooked breakfast arrived in good time upon arrival. Our breakfast was lovely and there is facilities for a further cup of tea in our room.

Our hosts Laura and Mark were lovely we felt like we were on the same level as them and got some useful information from them. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Hudson and look forward to returning in the future!

Best Wishes

Steve & Rachel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PoshAnBecksOfHornsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked for Whitby on impulse after our weekend plans were cancelled. The owner was most helpful and went to a lot of trouble to offer us his backup room later replacing that with another room when someone else didn't arrive Thanks to trip advisor recommendations we found this excellent B&B which was welcoming and spotless. Hudsons is well decorated with comfy beds , crisp white linen and a great breakfast using quality ingredients. We would love to stay again but will book ahead in future to ensure we get in.

Room Tip: Our room had a wooden blind and no curtains so if you are sensitive to early morning light you may w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMac324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from staying two nights at Hudsons.
We enjoyed the hotel/b&b, great central location, parking no problem with cheap £3.00 for four day pass obtained at reception..
Hosts were on hand, but were eager to help if that is what was wanted.
Room on top floor was modern and the shower/toilet area was clean and room coffee/tea replenished daily.
Choice of breakfast was great too, only downside was we had to order what we wanted the night before, sometimes you can only decide when you wake up, am sure hosts would have understood if you had changed your mind, we have never come across this before.
There was no welcome pack/leaflets in room which would have helped, but again, no real problem.
We would recommend friends to stay.. so we were happy...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancashire1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton Abbey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went to the Hudson at the last minute after being let down by another b&b and were very pleasantly surprised, the Hudson is on its way to being a beautiful boutique style place to stay. The room was fantastic with a lovely little en suite shower room. There was a choice of breakfast available and it was cooked well. The hotel was immaculately clean and there are some lovely little touches to the decoration around the building showing real attention to detail.
The owners were very welcoming and professional and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent 5 night's in Hudsons hotel Whitby, the room was very clean and large enough for the two of us, breakfast was very good and the owners very friendly, was on the top floor which was a lot of steps to climb but lived to tell the tale, Whitby is very hilly so we got the tour bus most days mainly to get us back to the top of the hill near the hotel, it cost four pound for over 60s and 5 pound for everyone else. As for food there are lots of fish restaurants which are all excellent, also Siggys chip shop on the front next to The Angel Weatherspoons was probably the best of all. Drink real ale all week my favorite was Strongarm which was sold in a few pubs, the Station pub has a good selection of real ale and also an artist called Ray Randall who was good if you like early 60s music and a bit of 50s.all in all a great time was had.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank brads27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Property: Hudsons
Address: 30 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing