We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B, will definitely return ASAP”
Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hudsons
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Booked a short notice weekend break in September after looking at the website and were delighted with every aspect of our stay. Our room was the Superior King Size and it did not dissapoint in any way. It was very contemporary, spacious, and spotlessly clean. The room was extremely light and airy and had a huge bay window with seating area. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and had a large shower cubicle. Mark and Laura were very obliging and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast room was modern and cosy and had a friendly atmosphere and the breakfasts were excellent - everything was really tasty and well cooked. The location of the Hotel is very good being only a few minutes walk away from the Beach, Town Centre and Harbour. We had a great weekend break and will certainly return as soon as we get the chance. We will definitely recommend to our friends and family. Thank you Mark and Laura for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandJofBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

Stayed here after a friend recommended it to us, we were not dissapointed the room we were in (room 3) was huge with a wonderfull fireplace and bay window. Great breakfast served by lovely laura.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flabberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We thought it was overpriced. The room was very small, with no room for chairs - not everyone wants to watch television in bed, especially with such a small screen. Apart from that the room was comfortable. Breakfast was a disappointment. The full English was excellent, but there was only orange juice (not very good quality), no grapefruit or prunes. There was fresh fruit (apples and bananas - though by the end of the week it was just apples). Cereals were available, but there was only a big pot of plain yogurt to help yourself from, no individual fruit yogurts. I would have expected an alternative breakfast - perhaps some kippers - in a seaside town. Supposed to have internet access but impossible to connect. Clean towels in abundance but I had to clean my own washbasin. All in all it was adequate, but not worth what we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwynnandceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This was our second time staying at Hudsons. The owners are very helpful, friendly and make you feel at home.
Upsides:
Laura is very nice (never met Mark). The decor overall is very comfortable and clean.
We do enjoy the breakfast. Bacon is especially good as are the scrambled eggs.
The Highspeed Internet is very helpful for us because when we travel we are usually having to check in or get directions to the next destination. This makes it easier for us to relax.
Can't beat the view from the front walk... you can get a nice look at the Abbey in the distance.
Downsides are the parking. This is just the way it goes though, especially in summer. The streets are pretty full.
Also, we have never actually gotten to stay in one of the fancier rooms because we've book late. Something to shoot for in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixie68m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Just come back from a weekend in Whitby and we stayed here for a couple of nights.

The rooms are really clean and very modern (lots of Ikea furniture!) and although we stayed in a room with an older style bathroom (the others had been upgraded) we were offered a reduced rate to compensate, which was very generous.

The hosts were very friendly and the breakfasts were very good, with barely a hint of grease on your plate. Will definitely stay here again next time we're in Whitby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunnerphil1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Having just been to my 1st ever Soul Weekender and my 1st ever stay in Whitby, I would like to thank my sister-in-law for finding this gem of a B&B. Laura and Mark are a lovely young, enthusiastic couple who have renovated this lovely building to a high standard. The welcome and attention to detail along with their friendly attitude will keep us coming back yearly. While the double rooms are a little on the small side, they have assured us this is something they are trying to tackle with reburbishment going into next year. However they are extremely clean and comfortable with everything you could possibly wish for. Thank you for a wonderful stay. oh and Mark, your breakfast's were lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulboy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Our first visit to the Hudson and it certainly won't be our last. Situated on the West Shore, in a quiet location ideally placed for the beach and shops, all within easy walking distance. The proprietors, Laura and Mark have created a welcoming and extremely stylish establishment. Recently modernised, with generously sized, en-suite rooms, tastefully decorated and furnished to a very individual, high standard complete with TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities.
Traditional English breakfast,home cooked by Mark, served in a bright and well appointed dining room.
We would be reluctant to recommend the Hudson to anyone else, preferring to keep this little gem a secret for ourselves!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PopsandJuJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 19 in Whitby
1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 19 in Whitby
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Address: 30 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £72 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing