We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“week end stay at york house”

York House Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
York House Caravan Park
Ranked #18 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“week end stay at york house”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

just got back home form a weekend stay at York house. stayed with agroup of self build campervan enthrusiants. had a magic time. shown to our pitch, and were every thing was located. having just sat and read some of the reviews on this web, I can only say many of must have stayed at a different site to the one I;ve just left ! ablutions where clean, don't know how often they where cleaned, but they were always spotless when I used them. all of our club members used the club room, and the staff were most helpful, and had a good laugh with us.would recommend this site to anyone we'll be using it again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank gordon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    11
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend with a few friends & my 2 Dachshunds, very friendly staff I had no trouble with my 2 dogs either good night in the hotel bar.
The site drains well after rain the showers & toilets are a bit basic but clean & tidy.
Will be back again next year with the SBMCC

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AdmiralNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

stayed at yorkhouse caravan park in April
great little site every thing spotless toilets are clean,
everyone is so helpful i was even helped on to our pitch as i am rubbish at reversing,
campsite manger is a character had a bit of a laugh with him,
made to feel so welcome welcome, children s play area excellent,
cant get any where better in whitby for £12.00 a night defiantly will be returning fab weekend stay

Room Tip: pitch 35 is a great look for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank janet n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

On arrival at this campsite we were guided to our spot. As we were reversing (in an awkward way so as to avoid the nearby parked car opposite and with 3 little kids in the back) the man who had guided us stood watching shouting 'that is the most rubbish parking I have ever seen in my life' - twice! This prompted even our little kids to comment 'what a rude man'!

Anyway, this set us off on a bad footing. We have previously stayed at High Rigg down the road which was lovely. One of the reasons I had chosen this site this time was the shop on site, as we get through so much milk and our fridge is small this is very handy. However, on turning up at the shop for milk I was told they don't sell it or bread anymore because now there's a Sainsburys down the road. Not really the point, especially as the shop seems open all the time as you have to buy electricity cards for the meter!

The bathroom was cleaned once when we were there but all the corners of the floor had been missed and were still dirty, the bin in the bathroom hadn't been emptied for far too long.

The best thing about this campsite is the playground which our kids very much enjoyed, as well as the field that it's in.

We won't be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The website does more justice to this site than reality. The facilities are tired and not very clean. If you shower make sure you take a cubicle at top of drainage slope otherwise you end up with others water draining into yours.....not nice! Paying for electricity via cards that you have to purchase from the 'shop' is annoying why not include in price? This seems to be all the shop offers as does not sell any basics such as bread or milk. We tried the bar in the hotel but was always dead with most preferring to go to nearby pub in village which is lovely. Not sure who this site is seeking to attract perhaps residents rather than tourists and if so that would explain a lot. Sorry but there are better and cheaper sites in the area nearer to Whitby and so we will not be returning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

all the staff at York house caravan park are extremely friendly, they can not do enough for you. we checked in and at £12 a night you can't go wrong the two gentlemen even pushed our caravan on to our pitch which was a great help as I can't reverse for toffee. the site itself is beautifully positioned in-between Whitby and robin hoods bay which is great there's a bar on site and one not 5 minutes walk away. this site is extremely dog friendly as there is a great big field dedicated just to dogs and the lovely old man with the little dog is a real character and seems only happy to talk to you. after reading the reviews on York house I was a little hesitant at first but glad I and my family came here. thanks again for our lovely stay with all at York house, we will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: pitch 32 is a great pitch with views for as far as you can see
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank northener1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Good Site with very helpful & pleasant staff. I have a motorhome & the pitch we were allocated was level hard standing with electric & fresh water. The shower block was clean & well heated. The bus to Whitby & surrounding area is 200 yards walk from the site. The pub & restaurant on site we did not use so I cannot comment. I can recommend this site.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ford1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
3.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,940 reviews
0.0 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#120 of 152 in Whitby
55 reviews
3.6 mi away
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Penny Hedge Lodge
The Penny Hedge Lodge
#18 of 152 in Whitby
229 reviews
19.5 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
3.8 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Caravan Park

Property: York House Caravan Park
Address: Hawsker, Whitby YO22 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Whitby
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing