We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Bracelet,Skipton.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wilson Arms

The Wilson Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wilson Arms
Ranked #142 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gold Bracelet,Skipton.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We enjoyed our midweek break,with Richard & Nick,food,accommadation and hospitality,
was very good.We can see that some people may have problems with Nicks type of humour,
but we gave as good as we got,and had some enjoyable evenings,would be very happy
to return for a value for money break.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    29
    12
    11
    15
See reviews for
18
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scarborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Don't waste your hard earned money!!!We entered the pub and thought how lovely, we got our drinks, which were over priced, sat down and looked at the menu which seemed expensive but we thought it must be good as the couple next to us said they'ed enjoyed a meal the night before.We ordered our food and waited, then began the insults, the bar man came across to collect glasses and proceeded to call our friends little boy porky, Then when i tried to get my boys a drink to have with their dinner, I was shoe'd away from the bar, told he was to busy, with one couple at the bar i thought he was joking but carried on to say, go away!We got our meal and to say the least it was poor, steak pie looked like pedegree chum slopped on the plate with a rock hard disc of what we think was meant to be pastry, No veg and the mash with the boys dinner was smash potato,when i went to pay i was asked had we enjoyed our meal not wanting the bar man to embarrass me i said it was ok, he then went on to tell me who cooked it and that he'd pass his thanks, hinting that i should leave a tip. I just ignored him and we picked our coats up to leave he shouted over the the pub, he hoped we hadn't nicked anything! Leaving the pub I felt i'd just spent sixty pounds to be insulted.I feel sorry for any unsuspecting holiday makers who fancy a bar meal here!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sarah450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at the wilson arms, although some of the reviews are not good, you only have to look in the visitors book to see how many people enjoyed their stay and will be returning. We were made very welcome, rooms clean and quiet, with a fantastic breakfast. I would not hesitate to stop again.

Room Tip: both the rooms we stayed in were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammonds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Very restricted opening hours - even for residents! - so location not ideal if you like a drink, as nearest open pub was a short drive away and cab fare to Whitby itself was £12 each way although for 3 couples this was not so bad. Rooms although cleanish were small and very basic and in need of refreshing as the 60s decor has had its day in my opinion.
The Mr Nice & Mr Not so Nice hosts are a real issue, especially if you are met by Mr 'Not so Nice' as we were - very rude, and aggressive. The only reason we decided to stay was the obligatory £50 per room deposit we had paid and no where else to go for 3 couples at short notice. Mr Nice is lovely so if you encounter him feel relieved!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Enjoyalaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

What a horrible experience landlord rude drunk aggressive I would never stay again food not clever either not worth the money

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thrue2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We have known the landlord and his partner for many years and I do not recognise the Wilson arms in some of these other reviews.

The welcome is always warm and the atmosphere convivial. Quiz night on a Tuesday is a great social occasion and the locals all pitch in to help visitors take part. there is always a lot of good natured "banter" but great fun.The "crack" is first class.

Sneaton is a pleasant village and access to the local area very good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumpy63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Spent a great few days here. The pub is warm clean and comfortable the food first class. Bedroom although not state of the art was spotless and The owners were welcoming and friendly. Cannot understand the negative comments made by some people Perhaps they were after a free holiday This has been known Did you see the TV programme about this.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazzarwhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.3 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#1 of 51 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Granby
The Granby
#112 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#54 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#67 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilson Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilson Arms

Property: The Wilson Arms
Address: Beacon Way, Whitby YO22 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilson Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wilson Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing