We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub, friendly and welcoming landlord and locals.”
Review of The Wilson Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wilson Arms
Ranked #124 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We have known the landlord and his partner for many years and I do not recognise the Wilson arms in some of these other reviews.

The welcome is always warm and the atmosphere convivial. Quiz night on a Tuesday is a great social occasion and the locals all pitch in to help visitors take part. there is always a lot of good natured "banter" but great fun.The "crack" is first class.

Sneaton is a pleasant village and access to the local area very good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grumpy63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2011

Spent a great few days here. The pub is warm clean and comfortable the food first class. Bedroom although not state of the art was spotless and The owners were welcoming and friendly. Cannot understand the negative comments made by some people Perhaps they were after a free holiday This has been known Did you see the TV programme about this.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazzarwhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Cannot believe that any human would treat another so rudely, so can only imagine that the person behind the bar in this pub, who claimed to be the landlord, has a serious problem. Having enjoyed a pleasant walking weekend in the area, a group of us( mixed ages and genders) called into this pub for drinks, only to receive abuse and insults. The barman appeared to be intoxicated and was very hostile. We were friendly and undemanding and could not understand his initial comments 'I don't want all you lot of rabble in here' - we thought he was joking, buthe continued so we left. It was a horrible experience that upset us all and spoilt our holiday. We would never go back and would advise others to avoid this establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mysteryshopper40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I would not ever go back very bad food very bad service a stay in a tent would have been better than staying at this pub all I can say is that the village is nice

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlierose2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

i booked a twin room and rang the wilson arms before i arrived and explained that i was travelling up to pick up a puppy and was very nervous it was a 8 hour drive for me but my friend was trying to sort a babysitter out and how much would it be for her to come with me (as i was on a budget) and i already paid for the twin room, they said don't worry we will sort it out when you get here o and they did that alright they charged me £45 just for 1 breakfast i was so upset i tried talking to them but they got a bullyboy approach so be warned any women travelling DONT stay at the wilson arms unless you want to be ripped off.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariebennetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Landlord said it was the best room in the house, well god help the other guests! Attic bedroom, sink in room, toilet/shower door with gap in middle, two huge conservatory chairs stuck infront of the window, presumably to see the fantastic view of the caravan and camping pitch. Electric light in toilet anyone any taller would have burnt their head on it. Breakfast quite good.. He must have thought we were a pushover paying £90 for a room like that.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank merlinhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

I agree with previous review regarding friendliness of the proprietors and the location is in good in a quiet village within easy travelling distance of Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay and Goathland (Heartbeat country). The pub was very good with a good atmosphere and good choice of beers and whisky. The room was clean with a good view and the breakfast was very good, despite the short time allowed (anytime between 8.30 am and 9.00 am!).
However, the rooms do need updating as the decoration is very dated, the furniture is cheap flatpack variety and the bed was hard. The shower room was tiny. If the room was updated I would go back as the proprietors are very friendly

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DisneyDi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.4 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 19 in Whitby
221 reviews
2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
139 reviews
2.1 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#4 of 55 in Whitby
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Arundel House
Arundel House
#28 of 155 in Whitby
333 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#44 of 155 in Whitby
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Esklet Guest House
Esklet Guest House
#112 of 155 in Whitby
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilson Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilson Arms

Address: Beacon Way, Whitby YO22 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £55 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilson Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Wilson Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing