We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage, third time here.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma W
Great Bentley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, third time here.”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Whalebone cottage is a charming large cottage, with 4 large bedrooms it sleeps 8 people comfortably. It is a very clean and tidy cottage. The sitting room is of generous size and there is a well stocked kitchen with dining area, this cottage also boasts 2 well sized bathrooms....one which just has a shower in. The outside garden is gated off for your own garden and parking for 2 cars. The views from the house are breathtaking with views across the Esk valley. You can also watch the comings and goings of the camping and caravan site which the cottage owners own...great for people watching!! The cottage is situated on a working farm which farms sheep....the kids love watching the sheep coming into the farm yard to be weighed. The cottage is about a mile away from whitby harbour...and if you walk there it's down hill all the way.....just hop in a taxi for the return uphill journey....the taxi is very reasonable back there. The owners are very very friendly and extremely helpful.....they didn't even mind us sitting in their garden when the sun left our garden. We have just returned to the cottage for our 3rd holiday and it won't be our last. The cottage is a great base for all the tourist attractions like Robinhoods bay, staithes and Scarborough. I would defiantly recommend this cottage. Thank you for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale Lancashire
Reviewed 5 July 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hartlepool
Reviewed 26 May 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frank T
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed at Whalebone Cottage on the first weekend in May to celebrate a couple of birthdays within the group and we will definately be going back. The cottage itself has a great homely feeling with amazing views and we were only a couple of minutes drive from Whitby. The owner is a lovely women who looked after us well providing information on local taxis, restaurants etc, even her dog made friends with ours!

The only negative I have with our weekend is that it ended too soon but we will definately be staying there again and I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, Atmosphere
Liked least: Wish We'd Stayed Longer
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Reviewed 19 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
goole
Reviewed 7 January 2011 for a stay in October 2010

Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huddersfield
Reviewed 3 June 2010 for a stay in April 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing