We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best b & b in Whitby”

Rothbury Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rothbury Guest House
Ranked #128 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the best b & b in Whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

When we go to Whitby, we only stay at the Rothbury. We''ve been going there for years and the standard is as good as it was then. Karen continues to make our stay comfortable. We feel that we are staying with friends. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast sets us up for the day. Thanks Karen, see you very soon. Cathy and Troy Nottinghamshire.

Room Tip: Take an umbrella, just in case
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 540CathyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Excellent hospitality made to feel very welcome could see they worked hard and put a lot of pride into the b n b. good value for money breakfast was really nice would deffo stop again and recommend it! Lovely b n b!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stannard89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just came back from our fourth stay at the rothbury,i cant find a fault with this loving family feeling house and Karen cant do enough for you.Many thanks again Karen for a lovely stay,see you again in April .

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wylricha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Just got back from a 3 night stay at The Rothbury, wonderful breakfast, warm house and great host. Karen knows everything you need to know about Whitby, we would definitely return.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CarlosMythos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

another great time spent at 'The Rothbury'. Great hosts be back soon

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

I was struggling to find anywhere in Whitby for a single nights stay over the weekend. Everywhere I looked insisted on a minimum of two nights. I'd almost given up when I stumbled upon the Rothbury Guest House. Karen was happy to take a booking for a single night and the experience exceeded all our expectations.
On arrival we were offered a welcome pot of tea and a plate of mixed cakes and biscuits. The room, though fairly compact was attractively presented and clean with a great choice of speciality teas in addition to tea and coffee. There was a good range of toiletries and a pile of soft white towels. The bed was really comfy too, with extra scatter cushions for support when watching TV.
The breakfast was beautifully presented on a table decked out with a pretty tablecloth and proper napkins. Nothing was too much trouble for Karen. Alongside the breakfast cereal was a wonderful array of fresh fruit, including strawberries and melon. She prepared two delicious breakfasts for us: one traditional and one vegetarian. Karen really knows how to make her guests feel welcome and 'at home'. There are just three double rooms so the maximum number of guests is just six.
The Rothbury is about a 10 minute walk into Whitby and is located on a quiet road with on-street parking.
I have concerns about writing such a glowing review because I fear I'll never get a 'look in' again! Now that I've found this place I really don't want to stay anywhere else. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ring Karen 01947 606282 for room choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anj203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thornaby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

rothbury has to be the best hotel we have stayed in karen (owner) very friendly substantial breakfast including fresh fruit which is very rarely found these days in hotels bed very comfy plenty tea ,coffee making products including special teas in room spotlessly clean brdroom & bathroom superb everything you need
thanks for a nice weekend karen
Jan & geoff Reed

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janThornaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#142 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#1 of 51 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothbury Guest House

Property: Rothbury Guest House
Address: 2 Ocean Road, Whitby YO21 3HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing