We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dolphin Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
211
108
46
24
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
211
108
46
24
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswing bridgewhitby scampilovely pubdog friendly pubwatch the worldoverlooking the harbourno liftfantastic locationcentral locationgoth weekendvisiting whitbybreakfast was deliciouscouldn't do enoughlovely roomfamily roomtoastfull english
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Never have i ever visited a place and disliked the experience as much as i did at the Dolphin. Clearly it was a bad choice because of how staff were treat, and especially how customers were treat by the Landlord. He really needs to sort his attitude out because if he keeps going down the path he's going, he and his wife Liz won't have a business to fend in the future. Maybe they would have suited a small village pub especially at their age it won't do Martin's heart any good if he keeps trying to pick fights with anybody that makes a squeak in the pub. Liz comes off as friendly now and again however she also comes off as very pretentious and egotistical. Also it was unfair that a policy for no pushchairs was put up considering it's meant to be a family pub and many families were kicked out for bringing their pushchairs folded up into the dining area when the pub had very quiet periods. Will not be setting foot in the Dolphin again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank becwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

In fifty years of pubgoing, I have never experienced such a display of sheer nasty, boorish, in-your-face aggression – from a landlord. Bizarre. The landlord of this pub has all the customer-friendly traits of Basil Fawlty, but without the natural charm. A kind interpretation could suggest that he would appear to be highly stressed and living permanently on the edge. Whatever the reason for his extreme behaviour, he needs medical help, urgently, otherwise he could spontaneously combust. I wonder if the police have ever been called to his pub and choose to support him as a local landlord, regardless of the circumstances surrounding what may have occurred. It would be very easy to get into a scrap with this character and find yourself on the wrong side of justice. This person is clearly in the wrong business and desperately needs a change of career, perhaps modelling straitjackets. If he doesn’t find a job where he can avoid the public, his wellbeing – particularly his mental health – may do for him. Maybe social services could pay him a visit and lead him gently to a place of padded walls, dim lights, soft music and no irritating human contact. How he retains a licence is beyond baffling. We (three mature couples) have been visiting Whitby annually for some years. We will not be setting foot in the Dolphin again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Artsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just back from 2 nights B & B at The Dolphin Hotel and have to say that we had a great time. The owners made us very welcome throughout the stay, whenever our paths crossed they were very eager to please us with advice or information of local knowledge. The refurbished rooms are of a high standard, very comfortable, great en-suite rooms and excellent breakfasts as well. The location is excellent, next to the swing bridge overlooking the harbour. We were very lucky to find street parking on the approach to the hotel, as all the car parks were full we did not move the car during the stay. We would not hesitate to return for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We have visited the dolphin 4 times this year the food and service was excellent and the staff friendly. Liz the landlady is lovely and always. Remembers us and its great that they allow you to take your dog in when you having a drink . Will be there again in oct for. My usual cheese board x. Sharon Rog. And mo mo x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank dolphindreamsno01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed two nights here. Great location, the staff was warm and friendly. Breakfast and wifi were included. We stayed in room 5 which was quaint. Note-there is no lift so be prepared to carry luggage up stairs. We also ate in the pub, which had great food. Would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews