We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hubbys 60th”
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #75 of 153 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2013

the staff were very helpful and the landlady very friendly. perfect position by the harbour, not noisy even though it was regatta weekend. breakfast very nice but it was a shame that we could not have an evening meal there as they shut the kitchen because it was quiet!!!
whitby is brilliant but you do struggle to find somewhere to eat on an evening unless its before 8pm. the indian in the station is absolutely fantastic. would definitely stop there again.

Room Tip: if you like to have a bath the room to go for is room 6. room 2 is small shower cubicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redged55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend in Whitby made even better by choosing the Dolphin as our hotel. From the moment we arrived we were treated like 'special guests', nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, especially Liz, the lovely landlady, even though she was busy would spend time chatting and showed genuine interest in myself and my husband. Liz was more than happy to recommend different places to eat and even suggested that if the weather turned we could buy a bottle of wine from bargain booze and sit and watch the world go by from our room!A++++ Liz! For those who do not know, The Dolphin is situated in the centre of the old town so ideally placed for all the many delights on offer. The view from our room (room 6) was perfect, the harbour, bridge and town towards the railway station, waking up to that was a complete joy (we were also blessed with lovely weather at no extra charge!) The room was superb and made all the better for having a bath as well as a shower, perfect for a luxurious soak after a long walk. The food was delicious and great value for money (we ate lunch on arrival but have eaten in the Dolphin on many occasions) The breakfast was faultless, I personally chose the lighter options of poached egg on toast and then salmon and scrambled egg on the following day, both were excellent. My husband opted for the Whole Hog! What a display of breakfast wares!! He was a very happy man! Suffice to say the breakfast set us up for the entire day. Perfect weekend! Will be booking for our anniversary in February when I finish writing this review! ;-D

Room Tip: Room 6 was very quiet and also had a bath as well as a shower, not sure if other rooms do have a bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqui b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed two nights and were very pleased with our choice. We stayed in room 2 which being a corner room overlooked the river and bridge on one side and the road on the other. The room was very quiet even though the windows faced a busy road on one side. Liz the landlady was very nice, helpful and friendly at all times as were all the other staff we met. The breakfasts were excellent and it was pleasing to see they used local suppliers. There is a large public car park to the rear of the pub and at £6 for 24 hours it was good value.

Room Tip: Room 2 great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnjhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Never have i ever visited a place and disliked the experience as much as i did at the Dolphin. Clearly it was a bad choice because of how staff were treat, and especially how customers were treat by the Landlord. He really needs to sort his attitude out because if he keeps going down the path he's going, he and his wife Liz won't have a business to fend in the future. Maybe they would have suited a small village pub especially at their age it won't do Martin's heart any good if he keeps trying to pick fights with anybody that makes a squeak in the pub. Liz comes off as friendly now and again however she also comes off as very pretentious and egotistical. Also it was unfair that a policy for no pushchairs was put up considering it's meant to be a family pub and many families were kicked out for bringing their pushchairs folded up into the dining area when the pub had very quiet periods. Will not be setting foot in the Dolphin again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank becwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

In fifty years of pubgoing, I have never experienced such a display of sheer nasty, boorish, in-your-face aggression – from a landlord. Bizarre. The landlord of this pub has all the customer-friendly traits of Basil Fawlty, but without the natural charm. A kind interpretation could suggest that he would appear to be highly stressed and living permanently on the edge. Whatever the reason for his extreme behaviour, he needs medical help, urgently, otherwise he could spontaneously combust. I wonder if the police have ever been called to his pub and choose to support him as a local landlord, regardless of the circumstances surrounding what may have occurred. It would be very easy to get into a scrap with this character and find yourself on the wrong side of justice. This person is clearly in the wrong business and desperately needs a change of career, perhaps modelling straitjackets. If he doesn’t find a job where he can avoid the public, his wellbeing – particularly his mental health – may do for him. Maybe social services could pay him a visit and lead him gently to a place of padded walls, dim lights, soft music and no irritating human contact. How he retains a licence is beyond baffling. We (three mature couples) have been visiting Whitby annually for some years. We will not be setting foot in the Dolphin again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Artsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Dolphin is in a great location for all Whitby attractions. Very close to the Captain Cook Memorial Museum and a wonderful view of the harbor and swing bridge. Rooms are very large and nicely appointed, the mattress in our room was badly in need of replacement. The owner and staff are very friendly. The front patio is a great spot to relax and people watch while and enjoying a nice drink.

The only negative but not unique to the Dolphin is the lack of parking space. We had to park at the Abbey parking lot on top of the hill above the hotel. It was quite a strenuous walk up and down to the town. We made the mistake of arriving at midday when the sidewalks were crowded and overflowing into the street. It made unloading at the hotel quite harrowing.

Room Tip: Try to arrive early or very late so that you can unload and find a parking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJS0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just back from 2 nights B & B at The Dolphin Hotel and have to say that we had a great time. The owners made us very welcome throughout the stay, whenever our paths crossed they were very eager to please us with advice or information of local knowledge. The refurbished rooms are of a high standard, very comfortable, great en-suite rooms and excellent breakfasts as well. The location is excellent, next to the swing bridge overlooking the harbour. We were very lucky to find street parking on the approach to the hotel, as all the car parks were full we did not move the car during the stay. We would not hesitate to return for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 19 in Whitby
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
18 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 19 in Whitby
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £108 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dolphin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Ale and Craft Gin house, serving the best American style food in Whitby! Amazing hotel rooms available on the riverside next to the swing bridge of Whitby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing