We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable”
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #75 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

After returning from university with friends my parents highly recommended that we go to this establishment for great beer and a lovely atmosphere however needless to say this was not this case..

After arriving two of my friends got some drinks and whilst deciding on what to get for myself and my partner I was informed by a very rude and slightly aggressive landlord that it was not a youth club and if we did not buy drinks then we would be shown the door..

After 5 minutes I did not think this was acceptable or necessary..

If you are looking for a cosy place to have a drink with friends this is definitely not the place.

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank Gc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for The Dolphin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

A party of 4 adults, 3 children aged 1-7. All of us had fish and chips. (you can't really have anything else in Whitby, can you?) Not a bad price, not bad tasting either. The odd bone still in the fish was disappointing and in my opinion the batter was a little too thick and so not crisp in places but the others were more than happy. Would've been nice to have proper hand cut chips rather than frozen ones but they were ok.

Having now read other reviews about the landlord, I can see where they are coming from, he was rather quick to ask us to fold up the buggy, despite it not really getting much smaller once it is done. We made light of the situation and just thought it was a bit silly. The landlord seemed more relaxed serving us drinks and even came to ask us how our meal was.

I would return, based on my experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Called in for a meal, got the drinks at the bar and after a couple of minutes the barman came to the table and took the food order, he came back 5 minutes later and said one of the things wasn't available at the moment so I changed it. The place wasn't very busy but had to wait about 35 minutes for the food, it was fine and the staff pleasant. Didn't get to see the landlord so can't say anything about him.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is my new fave place for a beer in Whitby. The beer is kept exceptionally well, the staff friendly and the music (especially impromptu evenings) brilliant.
There was no food available whilst we were here, due to the flood.
Come here if you like a good real ale and a bit of folk music.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Snodnod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

When we first arrived we were greeted with a smile and made at ease from the start. We had booked a room at the rear of the property which we didn't know. We were allowed to have an upgrade no problem. The meals were very good and reasonably priced too. The breakfast sets you up for the day. When we visit Whitby again in the future we will be booking in again. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Went in to this establishment on the Goth weekend, place was very busy. Shame landlord and landlady were sat on stairs a bit tipsy. Landlord shut bar at eleven pm! Even though there were plenty customers in! Thought they would have relished the business on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angi378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We first stayed at The Dolphin in 2010 when it was very run down. It now has new owners and they have completely turned it round. Whereas the bar was very scruffy it is now a pleasant place to sit and watch the world go by. They have also opened one room as a restaurant, with a lovely view of the river Esk. Our room (1) was HUGE, it had a wonderful view over the river Esk and the swing bridge. It had a table and chairs in the window and we took full advantage of this. The bed was large and comfortable with side tables and bedside lights. The room was very spacious with a large wardrobe. The bathroom was very large with lots of shelf space for toiletries, always very important.

The landlord and landlady were very friendly. Breakfast was served in the restaurant, so we could look at the view. There was a good selection of cereals and a large bowl of fruit, also yogurt and fruit juice. Followed by a large cooked breakfast, which was very good.

The Dolphin has a wonderful location right in the centre of Whitby. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
635 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#50 of 152 in Whitby
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £104 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dolphin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Ale and Craft Gin house, serving the best American style food in Whitby! Amazing hotel rooms available on the riverside next to the swing bridge of Whitby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing