We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The landlord knows NOTHING about hospitality.”
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #77 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The landlord knows NOTHING about hospitality.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We visited Whitby with friends on Easter Sunday and fancied a drink whilst waiting for our train. As we went to enter the Dolphin, my husband (who was pushing our baby daughter in a wheelchair) held the door open for a lady coming out with drinks. As he did so, he obviously missed a sign saying 'no children allowed' as the landlord came rushing over, pointed at the pushchair and yelled "No No ! Can't you see the sign ?" We were completely taken aback by his rudeness which was absolutely discusting. There are much politer ways of saying that children aren't allowed. I note others have commented on the landlord's attitude on here too. Stay well away, from this place especially if you have Kids.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nikki27102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    69
    33
    10
    51
See reviews for
52
174
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Booked The Dolphin last minute for a night away. Perfect position in the town. Lovely comfortable room, excellent evening meal and excellent breakfast. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieL21766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Great location by the bridge, overlooking the quayside, beautiful room ,very clean and spacious, lovely breakfast and very friendly staff . Handy for all the shops, restaurants , pubs and a short walk to the priory
Perfect

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tonyw1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We are on holiday in Whitby and called in at The Dolphin for some lunchtime refreshment, the staff are very friendly and we had only sat down for a few minutes when a member of staff arrived with a bowl of water for our dog Reggie, vey nice touch. We didn't actually eat here but the meals that were brought out looked lovely. Very nice place to call in for a break from sightseeing in Whitby. We saw the swing bridge open too and The Dolphin was a very good vantage point!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We chose the Dolphin because of its location right by the bridge. Great welcome and we had a fish pie each that was locally sourced. It was tailor made as my wife can't eat shell fish. We were told "each pie is made to order". We were not disappointed. Did not stay so can't comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewD1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

for many years the dolphin was not a place that I, as a local, would go, but in the last few months having found they serve peroni on draught and let dogs in we have started to go for a quick drink on the way elsewhere, and have generally enjoyed the experience and spoken to others who were eating and enjoying the food. tonight though was a different experience, and I can only say thank you so much to the door staff who have gone over and above themselves to help out. a family member needed a clean safe environment to carry out a medical procedure and the downstairs loo was not what was needed, they got a key for an empty room, too family member to it and left them to do the necessary, it was really appreciated, this family member has not gone out for over 19 months having been diagnosed with the big C, and an op raidio and chemo for almost two years, so the compassion shown was beyond what this person could ever have realised they were showing. thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codhead1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We chose to eat at the Dolphin after finding it on a dog-friendly website. We were visiting Whitby with our three dogs and often struggle to find decent establishments that are this accommodating when you have three dogs in tow! We were made instantly welcome and bowls of water were brought for the dogs before we'd even ordered drinks! All staff were friendly and helpful, the food was really fresh and delicious and we felt we got real value for money too. There was a lovely atmosphere in the bar area; the food did take a while to come but it was so fresh and tasty it really wasn't a problem! We'd definitely return and recommend to dog owners visiting Whitby! Thanks for a lovely evening!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Puglady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#20 of 20 in Whitby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#58 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Property: The Dolphin Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dolphin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Ale and Craft Gin house, serving the best American style food in Whitby! Amazing hotel rooms available on the riverside next to the swing bridge of Whitby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing