We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views...but”
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #75 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our room was expensive but the view over the river and boats was amazing.
Breakfast service needs a tweek ,we waited an hour for our English breakfast,there were only 3 tables occupied.
when it at last came out ,the order was wrong ,so the waitress took it back to the kitchen twice to rearrange the plate ,and then when we finally got our breakfast ,it was cold!!.
perhaps they need to get some younger,more energetic cooks and waiting staff??
Perhaps help with getting our cases up many stairs would have been helpful.
just little things really

Room Tip: Room no 1 has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank buddah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just got back from a fabulous weekend at the Dolphin. Excellent location, very central. Rooms clean and very friendly staff with impeccable manners. Would have no hesitation in returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Recently spent two nights at the Dolphin and consider ourselves very fortunate to have chosen this lovely small hotel. It is comfortable,clean and very convenient for all of Whitby's attractions.Views overlook the bridge and harbour and everything is within comfortable walking distance. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. Rooms are spacious,well furnished and the bathroom is also spacious with bath and shower and plenty hot water. Our friends who accompanied us on this visit were equally impressed. We won't be saying any where else when we return to Whitby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just stayed two nights at the dolphin hotel, we were in room two which over looks the bridge in whitby. The room was lovely, comfortable and spacious with a shower room en suite. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was also very good, freshly cooked to order. I have read some of the negative reviews and i admit i was apprehensive about booking at this hotel, but i neednt have been, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steffyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Visited every day of our 3 day stay in Whitby, & ate there twice. Friendly & very welcoming staff, very dog friendly too! Our dog was given chews by the staff .. Tasty , quality home cooked food that hits the spot. All round nice atmosphere with excellent views of the swing bridge & harbour. Great to sit & watch the world go by. Will definitely be back & would recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pidge7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at the Dolphin Hotel in Whitby over the bank holiday, enjoyed every minute of it, the room was very clean and comfortable and the view over the harbour was brilliant, we had sunday lunch in the Dolphin Hotel it was very good, the breakfast was one of the best i have had and i've stayed in some good hotels over the years. The staff are brilliant and very helpful.

Room Tip: Room 6 with brilliant views, but there is no lift and it is up a few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alpay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I often stay wih Liz and Martin at the Dolphin, it is always fantastic, friendly staff, gorgeous food, top class rooms and beautiful views!! Can't wait to come up again :-D Liz and Martin really have turned the place around.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Colette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,179 reviews
18.0 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £107 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dolphin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Ale and Craft Gin house, serving the best American style food in Whitby! Amazing hotel rooms available on the riverside next to the swing bridge of Whitby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing