We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Called in while the bridge was off - ok nothing special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #89 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Called in while the bridge was off - ok nothing special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The pub was busy while the bridge was off. It has a nice area on the front just infront of the bridge. Inside looks ok the staff were a bit miserable, nothing special it was all really sticky on the tables and we had to move 3 times to get one that did not rock.
We never stayed in the pub we were just passing trade while the bridge was out

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NolaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    58
    33
    9
    49
See reviews for
43
155
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rotorua
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our room was expensive but the view over the river and boats was amazing.
Breakfast service needs a tweek ,we waited an hour for our English breakfast,there were only 3 tables occupied.
when it at last came out ,the order was wrong ,so the waitress took it back to the kitchen twice to rearrange the plate ,and then when we finally got our breakfast ,it was cold!!.
perhaps they need to get some younger,more energetic cooks and waiting staff??
Perhaps help with getting our cases up many stairs would have been helpful.
just little things really

Room Tip: Room no 1 has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just got back from a fabulous weekend at the Dolphin. Excellent location, very central. Rooms clean and very friendly staff with impeccable manners. Would have no hesitation in returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Recently spent two nights at the Dolphin and consider ourselves very fortunate to have chosen this lovely small hotel. It is comfortable,clean and very convenient for all of Whitby's attractions.Views overlook the bridge and harbour and everything is within comfortable walking distance. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. Rooms are spacious,well furnished and the bathroom is also spacious with bath and shower and plenty hot water. Our friends who accompanied us on this visit were equally impressed. We won't be saying any where else when we return to Whitby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just stayed two nights at the dolphin hotel, we were in room two which over looks the bridge in whitby. The room was lovely, comfortable and spacious with a shower room en suite. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was also very good, freshly cooked to order. I have read some of the negative reviews and i admit i was apprehensive about booking at this hotel, but i neednt have been, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steffyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Visited every day of our 3 day stay in Whitby, & ate there twice. Friendly & very welcoming staff, very dog friendly too! Our dog was given chews by the staff .. Tasty , quality home cooked food that hits the spot. All round nice atmosphere with excellent views of the swing bridge & harbour. Great to sit & watch the world go by. Will definitely be back & would recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pidge7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at the Dolphin Hotel in Whitby over the bank holiday, enjoyed every minute of it, the room was very clean and comfortable and the view over the harbour was brilliant, we had sunday lunch in the Dolphin Hotel it was very good, the breakfast was one of the best i have had and i've stayed in some good hotels over the years. The staff are brilliant and very helpful.

Room Tip: Room 6 with brilliant views, but there is no lift and it is up a few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#65 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Endeavour
The Endeavour
#75 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Property: The Dolphin Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dolphin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Ale and Craft Gin house, serving the best American style food in Whitby! Amazing hotel rooms available on the riverside next to the swing bridge of Whitby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing