We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Definitely Go Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #86 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would Definitely Go Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We have just come back from a two night stay at the Dolphin and I am still buzzing! The room (No.1) overlooked the bridge and the harbour and the views are magnificent. The room was clean and comfy and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The only bug bears were the lack of breakfast and the people in the Apartment next door. They decided to come back at 1.30am and didn't give a monkeys who knew. Unfortunately the wall between our room and theirs was quite thin but after we had a 'word' it was nice and quiet. I can't recommend the room enough though - it was a perfect place to sit and watch the world that is Whitby go by. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be going back next year if we can.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyEll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    62
    33
    10
    50
See reviews for
47
165
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

I visit whitby at least 4 times a year and i visited the dolphin hotel in August 2010. the staff were the rudest people i have ever had the misfortune to come across. i was with half adozen friends but there was at least another 10 people in the place when the staff decided to close the bar at 10.45. they were actually arguing with us that our watches were wrong. the bouncer was agressive and just as rude as the staff. when we asked for a number so that we could complain they were even ruder - and wouldnt give us a number. i wouldnt step foot in there again if it was the last place in whitby. who ever owns this place needs to mistery shop it and take a look at the behaviour of the staff. they are ripping you off - asked 25 customers to go at 11.00pm when the place was full. they didnt call time because they didnt want people to get served so that they could all go home early.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Ive got to say that we couldn't fault our stay in The Dolphin. The place was spotless..we had "The Apartment" which may have one time been the managers flat. It was massive and slept 4 but could easily take another 2 on the big corner settee. Seemingly, the rooms have been refurbed and ours had a fab open plan kitchen/lounge overlooking the water. Mind you, the swing bridge was broken so there was no traffic and it was really quiet.
But I would certainly recommend it. We didn't eat there so can't comment on food.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billchesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel in June. The room was fine, clean and big enough for a short stay. The view was fantastic but the position of the room meant that it got a lot of noise from the street. We had the window open because it was hot but shutting them didn't block out any of the noise. The bathroom was tiny but clean. The water pressure in the shower was poor though.
We booked through laterooms and got a good price but you need to factor in paying for breakfast (elsewhere - hotel doesn't do breakfast) and parking. We paid £6 for 24 hours at the marina and finding a space wasn't easy.
I liked the hotel for the views and the location but found it noisy - from other rooms as well as outside so would probably not stop there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wherever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

The pub itself is tatty and not somewhere you'd choose to spend time. We booked it because of the view and the pictures we saw of the rooms led us to think it was much more up market than it is.
The view from our room was fantastic but the negatives by far outweighed this. Firstly the door lock was really loose and the door could easily be pushed open. The windows had bars on and were all painted shut. The bathroom was the size of a cupboard. The toilet seat was hanging off and couldn't be sat on. The toilet smelt like it hadn't been cleaned. The sink had a crack in it so really unhygienic and full of germs. The shower rail was broken and the shower wouldn't stay in position so you had to hold it to shower.
Then there is the mattress, which was clearly old and poor quality as you could feel the springs.
All this for £90 a night and no breakfast. Oh and you also have to pay for car parking.
I would also beware to get confirmation of your booking in writing. We were certain we booked saturday and sunday night. We were called on saturday morning to be told we had booked friday and saturday and there wasn't a room for us for the sunday. They had not sent us confirmation so we couldn't prove we were right. They charged us for friday and saturday night even though we only stayed the saturday. I saw the booking sheet when we arrived and saw lots of tipex on our booking. I know we were right and it left a bad taste as felt ripped off.
The best thing the landlord did was find us alternative accommodation for the sunday night. .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyLady37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

Room view was superb overlooking the bridge and harbour and right in the centre of Whitby. The room was a good size, clean and decorated nicely. We didn't get any noise from the pub below but the family next door decided they wanted up and out at 7.30am and weren't exactly quiet. Unfortunately there is no breakfast available however there are a couple of cafes on the doorstep. We chose the one round the corner and it was excellent, we decided on the large English and it was massive! Another minus is the lack of parking but there are car parks within a short walk and are fairly reasonably priced. Other than collecting the key from the bar and dropping it off with the cleaner in the morning, we didn't see anyone so can't really comment on customer service.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseReay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#20 of 20 in Whitby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#68 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Property: The Dolphin Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dolphin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Ale and Craft Gin house, serving the best American style food in Whitby! Amazing hotel rooms available on the riverside next to the swing bridge of Whitby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing