We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN -”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #84 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN -”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

Hm, it is a shame that landlords are not vetted before given a license, as this liscencee hasn't got a clue about customer relations, running a pub/hotel and NO people skills. having spent all day Saturday outside the pub we decided to go inside, my mate who is 7foot tall was by passed for over 30 minutes at the bar as the staff congregated at one end of the bar serving those coming through the door. So I went to the bar. Pointing to a member of staff the oversight I was asked to leave. huh apperently using my finger to attract a member of staff is rude, insulting & arrogant. Well shocked at this and no explanation we were told to go. going back to find why the following day I showed my aggressive side to the glass collector who gave me a verbal abuse from behind the bar previous only to suddenley surrounded by the staff. I was NOT intimidated infact it me more angry. The good people of Whitby dont deserve this blot on the landscape and the locals DONT like the the people that run the erm hovel.
No food although advertisised a dirty pub rude staff, staff that dont know what they are doing and pub that once its had your money wants to kick you out is not British.
PS The excellent review on here Birchester of Newcastle THAT is the Landlord of the Dolphin.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fido67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    62
    33
    10
    50
See reviews for
47
165
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SHEFFIELD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We have stayed at the Dolphin for a few years now and this was the worst stay we've had there. I have to agree with everyone elses comments about it needing a revamp but it was only done last year!!!! The rooms are small and very expensive, especially with no breakfast included.

I went to the bar one night and was given the correct change. When I went again, the girl short changed me and when I pulled her about it she went straight to the till and got the EXACT amount of money out so she knew she'd done it and was actually blatant!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SALLYLIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Berkshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed at The Dolphin for a week. The room was a good size with plenty of storage. There was a table and two chairs by the window with a lovely view of the River Esk and the Swing Bridge. The tiny shower room left a lot to be desired though, tiny sink, toilet seat fell down every time my husband used it. No towel rail. The room was 'cleaned' every day, though the shower room's rubbish bin was never emptied. Luckily we had taken a bar of soap with us as there was none supplied. The bed wasn't made at all or the floor swept. The tea tray was filled up every day with plenty of tea, coffe and biscuits. We didn't see much of the staff but they were friendly when we did. The location was superb and we couldn't have wished for a better view or more central position. Although breakfast wasn't included, we found a lovely little cafe just across the bridge called The Singing Kettle which opened at 6 every morning and the food was freshly cooked and delicious. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go there again. It could do with some money spending on it to redecorate and renovate it, then it would be lovely.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We have just come back from a two night stay at the Dolphin and I am still buzzing! The room (No.1) overlooked the bridge and the harbour and the views are magnificent. The room was clean and comfy and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The only bug bears were the lack of breakfast and the people in the Apartment next door. They decided to come back at 1.30am and didn't give a monkeys who knew. Unfortunately the wall between our room and theirs was quite thin but after we had a 'word' it was nice and quiet. I can't recommend the room enough though - it was a perfect place to sit and watch the world that is Whitby go by. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be going back next year if we can.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyEll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

I visit whitby at least 4 times a year and i visited the dolphin hotel in August 2010. the staff were the rudest people i have ever had the misfortune to come across. i was with half adozen friends but there was at least another 10 people in the place when the staff decided to close the bar at 10.45. they were actually arguing with us that our watches were wrong. the bouncer was agressive and just as rude as the staff. when we asked for a number so that we could complain they were even ruder - and wouldnt give us a number. i wouldnt step foot in there again if it was the last place in whitby. who ever owns this place needs to mistery shop it and take a look at the behaviour of the staff. they are ripping you off - asked 25 customers to go at 11.00pm when the place was full. they didnt call time because they didnt want people to get served so that they could all go home early.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Ive got to say that we couldn't fault our stay in The Dolphin. The place was spotless..we had "The Apartment" which may have one time been the managers flat. It was massive and slept 4 but could easily take another 2 on the big corner settee. Seemingly, the rooms have been refurbed and ours had a fab open plan kitchen/lounge overlooking the water. Mind you, the swing bridge was broken so there was no traffic and it was really quiet.
But I would certainly recommend it. We didn't eat there so can't comment on food.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billchesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel in June. The room was fine, clean and big enough for a short stay. The view was fantastic but the position of the room meant that it got a lot of noise from the street. We had the window open because it was hot but shutting them didn't block out any of the noise. The bathroom was tiny but clean. The water pressure in the shower was poor though.
We booked through laterooms and got a good price but you need to factor in paying for breakfast (elsewhere - hotel doesn't do breakfast) and parking. We paid £6 for 24 hours at the marina and finding a space wasn't easy.
I liked the hotel for the views and the location but found it noisy - from other rooms as well as outside so would probably not stop there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wherever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#20 of 20 in Whitby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#67 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Property: The Dolphin Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dolphin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Ale and Craft Gin house, serving the best American style food in Whitby! Amazing hotel rooms available on the riverside next to the swing bridge of Whitby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing