We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coast to Coast stop”
Review of Intake Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Intake Farm
Ranked #67 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Coast to Coast stop”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Probably the most memorable B&B in our 18 days walking the C2C. It's a working farm, a REAL home where Judith and Robert work hard to welcome guests while doing everything else that is needed on a farm. Warm and hospitable, cozy and comfortable, clean and spacious. Judith cooked a wonderful meal for 6 including her famous rhubarb crumble. This is not the fanciest B&B we stayed in, but the one where we felt the most welcomed and cared for. Thank you Judith for your attention to all our needs and more.

Room Tip: Every room has a wonderful view of the farm, the pastures, and are quiet and homey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Tea and Cake and a nice smiling Judith and husband on arrival. Comfortable bedroom , great power shower in bathroom to blast those aches and pains away, food to really satisfy those weary walkers. As mentioned in other posts Intake is not licensed so no alcohol available if you want an evening drink and no pubs in walking distance so pick something up in Grosmont if you really need it. Wide range of breakfast alternatives available. For Coat to Coasters this is a great last night stop over with just 12 miles to Robins Hood bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixDieKatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were welcomed with Tea and Cake, Judith treated us like friends. The rooms are very comfortable clean great views of the next days walks with seperate bathrooms. There were baths and showers great for the aching bones. The evening meal was fantastic a three course meal,a choice of starter, 5 vegetables to cater for all two main dishes and one of our party was a vegitarian and was gratfull NOT to have the Veg Lasagne available across the caost to coast. Judith obliged by including some of the apple upside down cake in the packed lunch. She will provide the short cut to the farm but is happy to pick up and drop off from the Chapel. We sat in our sitting room in front of the log fire waiting to be called to supper. Well recomended. Buy a bottle to have with the meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Are we glad we decided to halve the distance between Glaisdale and Robin Hoods Bay by stopping overnight at Intake Farm. This was home from home and we felt like part of the family,
From the tea and cake upon arrival to our hearty breakfast the following morning, it was wall to wall comforting. We dragged ourselves away hoping the cows got out into the awaiting fields and Judith managed to save the ailing little lamb and feeling guilty that we had been pampered without having had an over strenuous stretch. Here's hoping a return visit is on the cards.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is a working farm, and it was a delight to be part of it. Yes, it's a bit chaotic, but that's part of the charm! Don't come expecting perfection. Instead, you'll be greeted warmly with true hospitality and get some good ol' home cooking. What a treat! A delightful place. Btw, the 3/4 mile uphill trek from Littlebeck is worth the effort. We'd like to thank our hosts for their graciousness.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank golda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have stayed here so often Judith and Robert are now like family! Having done the Coast to Coast walk 5 times and coming to this beautiful part of the world numerous other times for partial walks, we always look forward to our stay at Intake Farm. Our room is lovely, the bed is so comfortable and the amazing shower is the best of the entire trip. I always look forward to washing my hair. Littlebeck is a beautiful area and Judith and Robert have a big, spacious, welcoming country home on their working farm of around 300 acres. Judith is an amazing cook and prepares special requests with ease ( wonderful veggie cassoulette that we ask for every time). I believe their superb reputation is well known as they seem to always have a full house. You will LOVE it here. You will sleep well, eat well, and want to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Judith - I just wanted to thank you for a superb stay - Now I have to be more objective. So here goes. If you like people who care about how you are enjoying your holiday and you enjoy superb home cooked food then this is a must.

Judith and Robert have an unbelievable knack of making your feel like a family friend. I wanted to stay for a week. Judith's cakes are extraordinary

I almost forget to say how beautiful Littlebeck is.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
4.1 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arncliffe Arms
Arncliffe Arms
#3 of 6 in Glaisdale
95 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
243 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Netherby House
Netherby House
#104 of 151 in Whitby
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intake Farm

Property: Intake Farm
Address: Littlebeck, Whitby YO22 5HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing