We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely genuine farmhouse”
Review of Intake Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Intake Farm
Ranked #68 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely genuine farmhouse”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

What a very special place. We were made so welcome as were our friends who were visiting us for the day. On arrival all four of us were treated to tea and cakes. Lovely owners. Farm a joy to walk around - cows, sheep, kittens galore. Blissfully quiet at night. Lovely home cooked meal. What an idyllic spot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saundersofrudgwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were welcomed by Judith as we arrived early from Blakey Ridge. A huge jug of lemon juice helped quench our thirsts. Lovely room. Judith was a marvel: for dinner she cooked two scrumptious pies (one steak and ale, the other chicken) as well as gammon and egg for one hiker who didn't like pie, marvelous vegetables, great starters, two desserts and two lots of custard, one especially made without sugar for a diabetic. All done with a smile.

Absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msjhaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We arrived early, which was not an issue. Wonderful working Farm B& B. This was our last night before completing C2C. Judith's welcome was warm and friendly. Jacko the Collie is a superb and made me long for our three Coliies waiting for us at home. Bedroom huge and clean with good bathroom. Evening meal was traditional home cooked and tasty. Make the effort to go from Ingleby Arncliffe to stay at The Lion above Rosedale and make this your last stay on C2C. If you have young children take them for a night away on a proper working farm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was one of the highlights of our coast to coast walk! It's a big house full of interesting clutter, obviously lived in by a real working farm family with working farm buildings right next door. Rooms are basic but clean. Location is very rural and quiet. Guests eat all at the same time at a single big table, and the food was simple but delicious. Judith the hostess was charming and fun - when we arrived we were invited for tea in her big busy kitchen.

Room Tip: Some rooms have ensuite baths, some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

A wonderful farm B&B near Littlebeck in Yorkshire. We were made to feel like family from the moment we arrived. The room was large and very comfortable and Judith's home cooking - dinner and breakfast - was truly amazing. And as Coast to Coast walkers - Judith's cut lunches were second to none!! We were sad to say goodbye.

Room Tip: Just off the main Coast to Coast route, but well worth the small detour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Food was fantastic, rooms were very comfortable and the owners were so welcoming it felt like a home from home. It was a welcome break after a very long walk on the coast to coast. Will definitely book again on a weekend break in north yorks.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Probably the most memorable B&B in our 18 days walking the C2C. It's a working farm, a REAL home where Judith and Robert work hard to welcome guests while doing everything else that is needed on a farm. Warm and hospitable, cozy and comfortable, clean and spacious. Judith cooked a wonderful meal for 6 including her famous rhubarb crumble. This is not the fanciest B&B we stayed in, but the one where we felt the most welcomed and cared for. Thank you Judith for your attention to all our needs and more.

Room Tip: Every room has a wonderful view of the farm, the pastures, and are quiet and homey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
4.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
4.1 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Ellerby Country Inn
Ellerby Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ellerby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sherwood Glen Guest House
3.2 mi away
Grosmont House
Grosmont House
#2 of 2 in Grosmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intake Farm

Property: Intake Farm
Address: Littlebeck, Whitby YO22 5HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing