We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience into farm life while living in luxury”
Review of Intake Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Intake Farm
Ranked #67 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A unique experience into farm life while living in luxury”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Judith is amazing! We arrived to a working farm to find the hosts so friendly and happy to devote so much time to us when they must be so busy. That morning a calf had been born yet they were happy to sit have a cup of tea and fresh baked delicious scones with us while the plumber was there too discussing renovations. Our room was huge with wonderful views over the farm and it was great to be able to spread out at almost the end of our C2C walk. Judith lit the fire in the lounge where we relaxed with wine we had brought. Dinner was delicious and fun as we sat at the table with 6 others enjoying a beautiful roast dinner with more vegetable dishes than I can list. Followed by the best pavlova we have ever had and yes we are from Australia! I don't know how they do it as there they were back at it in the morning cooking us a great breakfast, taking time to chat and share their life with us. It was a highlight on the C2C walk. I feel sorry for people who don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneRoger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Arriving early, the uphill walk was worth the effort, we were made very welcome by Judith and as this is a working farm, there were converstions About prices of livestock and produce, verydown to earth, and it mkes you understand the problems modern farmers face. Food was prepared on the premises, and Judith's lemon tart is something you don't want to pass on. My companion had a broken charger for her Iphone, so Judith kindly let her have a unit to enable her to contact home....
Excellent breakfast, we made it to Robin Hood's Bay with time to spare. This is a must-do for wvery C2C walker.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We found the farm easy with our Sat Nav. It was not too far off the beaten track, yet far enough to enjoy a real countryside farm stay.
Our hosts were very welcoming, and made us feel at home straightaway. We were travelling on a short family break, and stayed in a large room with a double, and two single beds.
The room was very clean, traditionally furnished with a lovely thick carpet! Two windows on either side of the room allowed us to sit and relax, whilst looking over the well-stocked vegetable patch, garden and rolling countryside. There was plenty of hanging space for clothes. A hairdryer is provided, as are towels and various toiletries in the large bathroom across the landing.

You will hear no unwanted noise in this place, with the only sounds being an occasional sheep bleating or cow mooing during the day. My 9 year old son loved the animals and was treated to a tour of the farm , despite the farmer just having finished a long morning doing his jobs, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for our hosts.

Breakfast was around a large table shared with other guests, this was hugely enjoyable and many interesting conversations were shared. Cereal was followed by a full English, fresh orange, coffee/tea and toast. We also booked an evening meal which was incredibly tasty - even my vegetarian dish.
There are two rooms guests are able to use. The dining room which also has a TV and selection of magazines and books. There's also a sitting room.

This is popular with walkers because of its location, however I'd also recommend it highly for couples and families.
We have very good memories of our stay. And will hopefully return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What a lovely warm welcome we had, tea and cake as we arrived from Blakey ridge ... Lovely big room and hearty home cooked food that was just what we needed! Perfect size breakfast to set us up for the last part of our journey! Would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone doing the c2c!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

we loved our brief time here and it was well worth the long walk up the hill from the C2C path - we had covered 17 miles from the Lion Inn to get there so the home made coffee cake and super hot bath were fab.........
As a veggie i have suffered from the mundane chips with everything available at most places in Yorkshire so Judiths home cooking and wonderful selection of veg was just what i wanted . We also particularly like the 2 dressing gowns hanging up for us to use in the wardrobe 1

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnandrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

What a very special place. We were made so welcome as were our friends who were visiting us for the day. On arrival all four of us were treated to tea and cakes. Lovely owners. Farm a joy to walk around - cows, sheep, kittens galore. Blissfully quiet at night. Lovely home cooked meal. What an idyllic spot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saundersofrudgwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were welcomed by Judith as we arrived early from Blakey Ridge. A huge jug of lemon juice helped quench our thirsts. Lovely room. Judith was a marvel: for dinner she cooked two scrumptious pies (one steak and ale, the other chicken) as well as gammon and egg for one hiker who didn't like pie, marvelous vegetables, great starters, two desserts and two lots of custard, one especially made without sugar for a diabetic. All done with a smile.

Absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msjhaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
4.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
4.1 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Ellerby Country Inn
Ellerby Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ellerby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sherwood Glen Guest House
3.2 mi away
Grosmont House
Grosmont House
#2 of 2 in Grosmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intake Farm

Property: Intake Farm
Address: Littlebeck, Whitby YO22 5HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing