We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“QUIRKY AND WONDERFUL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Humble Pie 'n' Mash

Humble Pie 'n' Mash
Ranked #6 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small unlicensed eatery, serving just pie mash peas and gravy. We welcome dogs and their owners but have a dog free area upstairs. We don't have any Alcohol, but you are more than welcome to bring your own or pop over the road to the Endeavour pub who will let you bring a nice cold pint back to your food.If we do something wrong or make a mistake, please let us know or contact me through the messaging service and i will put it right.I believe you should be able to have a filling quality meal for a decent price.
Cabo Roig, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“QUIRKY AND WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We lived in Whitby and visited with friends and family on many occasions. The atmosphere, food and staff - second to none. The choice of pies is amazing and they all taste delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 165AnneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,030
    400
    79
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I love this place! Good wholesome, homely food. Really filling portions at fantastic prices. A back to basics retro approach that makes you realise that the simple things in life are the best. And it's dog friendly. I realise such a place won't be to everyone's taste, but I'm sure there are plenty more along with myself who's advice would be 'don't change a thing!'

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank colgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Amazing, quirky restaurant with lots of history, staff were great, food was fantastic, I had the vegetarian pie and my husband had the steak and ale pie, both were outstanding, with lovely home made mash,peas and gravy served in a tin plate and a big mug of tea

They do not sell alcohol but my husband was told if he wanted a pint then he could go over to the pub across the road, buy one and bring it back to the restaurant, he was very impressed with that idea!

I would highly recommend going if you want a good home cooked meal at a very reasonable price

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinky1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Great selection of pies with a lovely atmosphere and great old timely music. Definitely a must visit if in the town

Helpful?
Thank littlemissbeverage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Heard good things and was not disappointed. Wonderfully restored building filled with vintage bits and bobs and, most importantly, amazing homemade pie and mash with peas and gravy. Spot on.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Domneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Humble Pie 'n' Mash also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Humble Pie 'n' Mash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing