We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“york hall hotel”
Review of York House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
York House Hotel
Ranked #126 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Spent a really comfortable three days at this hotel.Nice clean room,good food and very pleasant staff.Handy for sight seeing without the bustle of the main resort.Had a twin bedded room overlooking the front grounds.Very plreasant and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank may w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Me and family stayed here on the campsite which was fantastic. The shower block and toilets were always clean and tidy. The only problem we had was on the sat night we decided to use the hotel restaurant to get the meal to take back to the tent and we was waiting nearly 1 and half hours for our food. Understandable there wasn't just us waiting for food but still i feel it was a very long time to wait for 5 meals 2 of which was already cooked as we saw ppl eating it before us on the plus side the meals was nicely priced and was very nice its just a shame the waiting time failed us. Apart from this i cant find anything to complain about and would stay here again on the campsite.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and i stayed 27th may 2012 the room was wonderful spottless on suite with flat screen tv .Excellent breakfast. couldnt do enough for you would highly recomend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We’ve just spent 4 super days at York House in Hawsker Village, I would recommend it to all.

We arrived on Monday 2nd April 2012 to a warm welcome, staff showed us to a superbly decorated warm twin bedded en-suite room overlooking their front grounds, there was a flat screen television and ample complimentary coffee chocolate or tea which was replenished each day. Nothing was too much for the family run hotel. Never having been to this area before Steve was most helpful showing us what to see and what to do, along with how to get there. The season has just opened this weekend, hence our early four days were perfect just as we liked it quiet and friendly. We found both chef’s, all staff and bar staff very friendly and helpful nothing was too much effort. We spent very comfortable evenings relaxing in their superb new conservatory with bar and very reasonably priced. Alternately there are another two lounges for residents use all with Sky television. There was ample choice of cooked breakfast and cereal, with a super new coffee and toasting machine allowing us to help ourselves. The local 93 bus stops 5 minutes walk from York House in Hawsker Village starting at Middlesbrough passing through Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay, and ending at Scarborough. Near York House is the Cinder Path (the old railway line) with cycles for hire along this easy 3 mile walk into Whitby or 3 miles the opposite direction into Robin Hoods Bay. We enjoyed these railway walks passing over Whitby Viaduct watching the old steam train on its way to Pickering. At the end of the day we took the 93 bus back to Hawsker Village and York House.

Room Tip: My review is of room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have just stayed at York House in Whitby. It is a fantastic place. The people who run it, Steve and his family, are fantastic hosts. The hotel is warm and clean, and the food is excellent. The breakfast was larger than other guest houses we have stayed at, and included black pudding.
The surrounding views are fantastic. We are booking another weekend here very shortly.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view with either a bath or shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

*It’s important to know that there is a B&B operation in the main house, not just the caravan park.*
The friendly and welcoming hosts carried my luggage up to the room. Nice décor in the room, recently refurbished, new wooden furniture. Nice thick towels.
They made me a dinner to order although I had not pre-arranged it. Full cooked vegan breakfast provided, including special purchases for me of soy milk, veg spread and veg sausages, instant decaf coffee. Very accommodating. Meals served on warmed plates, which was much appreciated.
Room could have used more hangers, a hair blower, plastic bags in garbage cans, more towel rails in bathroom. Small shower stall.
Pub downstairs has draft and bottled beer, though no local brews.
Hourly bus service, about 10 minutes’ walk to the bus stop, to get into Whitby, Robin Hood’s Bay or Scarborough. (One day I walked into Whitby, it’s not that far.) Walking trails nearby, including coastal trails.
Good value and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LCNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

A party of 4, we stayed for 3 nights, having booked at the last minute. The hotel is attached to a large caravan park and appears to be a bit of an after-thought. The rooms were large and comfortable. Our hopes were high when we went down for breakfast, and the first morning we only waited about 20 minutes for our breakfast. However, this wait increased each day until by the last morning we waited nearly an hour - not surprising as there was only one young man doing everything, he did his best but by the time our breakfast arrived, some of it was stone cold.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank parachute50JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3.8 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
139 reviews
4.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
6.1 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#139 of 155 in Whitby
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Hotel

Address: Hawsker Lane, Whitby YO22 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £39 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York House Hotel Deluxe B & B is a large detached Victorian house, sethotel1.JPG in 4 acres of beautiful North Yorkshire Moors Countryside yet only a short drive to the coast. We are very well located for the many walks that cover the North Yorkshire Moors Hawsker is a small village in beautiful countryside having many footpaths and cycle ways. On site we also have a cafe, restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing