We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of York House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
York House Hotel
Ranked #109 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our stay at York House Hotel was disappointing. When we arrived it became apparent that our family room did not have the extra bed we expected and had booked. There appeared to be poor communication between the person who took the booking and the people running the hotel when we arrived. It took some time to get the extra bed in what was then a very cramped room. The food and service was adequate but not anything beyond that. The room would have been nice for a couple but was not ok for 4 people - especially as the window did not open - reportedly for safety reasons. The washing machines/dryer in the next door caravan park were good and and the wifi signal was strong. However, we could not recommend the York House Hotel based on our stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Annie830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    16
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
12
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north west
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

we booked one night herein September .we had a great room with views over Whitby .room 3.
great location and excellent food
.they have just brought out a new menu which is very nice ,this is a family run hotel which gives you excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blindmannorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked a couple of nights here in March to stop in august. On arrival we were showing to a twin room although we had booked a double. on queering this we were told to see the owners later to sort it out as the person there did not know this and was soon going of duty. Later on we were given the keys to a double room and told it was at the top of the stairs no offer to take our bags or show us were it was. Although the room was clean it was not value for money at £84 pounds a night. In the morning we found that there was no hair dryer in the room and had to go and find someone who eventually brought one to our room {no apology}when trying to get the hair dryer I noticed the morning cook going through a rubbish bin in her chefs clothes and with no gloves on (not very good)when my wife took a shower in the morning she soon noticed that the drain was blocked and water was flowing over the top of the shower tray out into the bathroom. I am afraid that this was the last straw and we decided to leave that morning before breakfast. On telling the owner of the decision to leave and the reasons all he could say was that he could not believe the problems and why had we not complained earlier. I pointed out to him that I would have if i could have found anybody to complain to. In the end we just left. This hotel has a very good looking web site and some good reviews so I don't know if this was just a bad day but the hotel looks nothing like the web site and we feel that there is no way we could recommend this hotel to any travelers.Luckily on this very busy weekend we did manage to find much better accommodation at short notice in Whitby

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rod b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night as my parents have a caravan on the adjoining campsite, all staff and visitors were very friendly, room was clean and spacious, breakfast fantastic and quick service :-) would definately stop here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDDLESBROUGH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Myself and my wife have just stayed at York House Hotel near Whitby. This is the third time we have stayed here. The rooms are very comfortable and very well decorated. Steve, Joanne and Michael make you very welcome. There is a conservatory area which serves as a bar, and it has a large outdoor area, weather permitting.
The food prices are very reasonable, and the breakfast is very satifying.

Room Tip: We always use room 1 which overlooks the conservatory area and the caravan park and fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BASILBABES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights over a weekend. When we arrived, we were given the choice of rooms, as there was a birthday party that night and they warned us about possible noise. We chose the room on the top floor, round the front of the house away from the bar, thinking it might be quieter.

The room was large, with a separate bathroom - no shower, just a very nice big bath. The room had the usual TV, sofa, kettle etc. It was nicely furnished and very warm, even with the radiators down low. The room was clean, smelling very fresh. Some might find the bed a bit hard, but its a personal preference.

The breakfast was fine, with a cooked breakfast available along with cereals and toast.

The main problem was the noise from the party on the first night and a guitarist on the second. While they each finished shortly after 11pm both nights, it was impossible to listen to the TV or have a quiet night in without the constant song fest in the background. My husband can fall asleep without even trying, but I was kept awake both nights. In the end, it became easier to sit up and read than to try to sleep. I'm not a party pooper, but it was a bit much to either have to stay awake or feel that you had to be in the bar (where conversation was impossible). I wouldn't stay there with children or if you were a light sleeper. It's a fine place apart from that, attached to their caravan and camp site, but I'd check if there's music on if you did want to stay. It's a good price, but not if you value sleep.

Room Tip: Top of the house if there's music on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Spent a really comfortable three days at this hotel.Nice clean room,good food and very pleasant staff.Handy for sight seeing without the bustle of the main resort.Had a twin bedded room overlooking the front grounds.Very plreasant and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank may w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Granby
The Granby
#112 of 151 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Endeavour
The Endeavour
#76 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#11 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 52 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Hotel

Property: York House Hotel
Address: Hawsker Lane, Whitby YO22 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing