We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regatta weekend”
Review of Ellies Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellies Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at Ellie's Guest House for the first time last weekend(10th- 13th August) The service we received was 1st class and the breakfast was superb.We had a lovely room on the second floor and I was able to get good Wifi reception.The room was excellent with lovely decor and furnishings and it was spotlessly clean.We were able to park in the school grounds which was very useful because of the Regatta the streets were full.

Val and Peter were great hosts and made us feel very welcome.They couldn't, do enough for us.

We had a lovely weekend and we will be back as soon as we can. Thank you very much Val and Pete for everything P.S Val makes lovely scones . Mary And Frank Wakefield

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellies_Guest_House, Owner at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello Mary & Frank,

It was lovely to meet you both and thanks for the review. We'll see you for next year's Regatta - if not before!

Best wishes
Val & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Ellies Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights (12th-15th August).

Ellie’s guest house is very efficiently run by Val and Pete, who are a most friendly and welcoming couple.

The room we had (Room 7) was on the 3rd floor, and was immaculately clean, well presented and well furnished with a modern bathroom / electric shower. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits were kept regularly topped up, and plenty of milk provided. Comfortable bed, and the room had a flat screen wall mounted TV. A nice touch was also the quality complimentary toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, hand & body lotion etc.).

Free wi-fi was available but a little patchy with us being on the 3rd floor. Not a major issue - and it was possible to use the dining room if it was necessary to get a stronger signal.

There was an extensive choice for breakfast, ranging from fruit, cereals, toast, cooked breakfast covering a wide choice including lighter options such as scrambled egg or beans on toast. All very good quality, nicely served and perfectly cooked. Home-made scones as well, delicious!

A very informative welcome pack is provided with a nice introduction about the hosts, and all the information you need for your stay, along with plenty of useful local information.

Parking is available free on the street, or at weekends / school holidays it is possible to use the nearby school grounds, via a permit available from the guest house, for a contribution of £2 per day towards school funds.

All in all an excellent and highly enjoyable stay at one of the nicest and best run guest houses we’ve been to for a long time. Highly recommended and wouldn’t hesitate to visit again next time we’re in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellies_Guest_House, Owner at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hi Ian,

Thanks for taking the time to write such an epic review, we really do appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Best wishes
Val & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ellies for 3 nights, We found Pete and Val very friendly nothing was to much trouble,even when i was ill. The room was excellent spotless and a huge comfortable bed and lovely ensuite, would definetely recommend it if you are going to Whitby, we will be staying there in the future. Once again Thanks Val and Pete for your great hospitality hopefully we will see you in the near future. Michelle and Charlie Southport

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellies_Guest_House, Owner at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Hi Michelle & Charlie,

Hope you are feeling better Michelle - it was a shame that you had to cut your stay short. We look forward to your next visit which you will hopefully be able to enjoy.

Best wishes
Val & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here over the weekend and what a pleasure it was. The room and deco was really nice and I have to say that cleanliness was of unbelievable standard. The owners Val and Peter are so nice that you are made so welcome from the minute you walk through the door. For breakfast you have a choice off a full English breakfast to lighter meals such as smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on toast which I had and was delicious and I must point out the home made scones that Val takes pride in are really nice. We would recommend the Ellies guest house to anybody that wants a home from home experience. We look forward to seeing you again Val and Peter thanks for all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverHeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellies_Guest_House, Owner at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Hi Andrew and Karen,

It was lovely to meet you both. Thanks for such a glowing review - we certainly have a lot to live up to now!

Best wishes
Val & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

the owners of this warm and homely guest house made my first visit to Whitby a brilliant experience both were warm and welcoming and had fantastic quality rooms. fantastic food and also catering for people with special dietary requirements (coeliac) thanks for fantastic time highly recommend ellies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellies_Guest_House, Owner at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Hi Simon

Thanks for such a nice review. It is very satisfying when our efforts are appreciated. It was good to meet you both and we look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes
Val & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed at Ellies for 2 nights with my daughter who had stayed at a different guest house the night before as she was attending a wedding and she says Ellies was much better. Val and Pete gave us a very warm welcome. Well decorated clean bedroom with comfy beds, complimentary toiletries and tea /coffee/biscuits.The breakfast was delicious, especially the freshly baked scones. The guest house is on West cliff, close to the beach and we had a lovely time and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellies_Guest_House, Owner at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Hi Ruth & Rachel,

We find it difficult to respond to this review as the ratings do not seem to correspond to the comments.

Best wishes
Val & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

just back from a weekend in whitby,got to say ellies was great in all aspects.thanks very much for an enjoyable stay and the information of where to go for evening entertainment.we will be back,and will be definately reccommending you to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RastrickFridgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 151 in Whitby
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 151 in Whitby
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper House
Sandpiper House
#11 of 151 in Whitby
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellies Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellies Guesthouse

Address: 4 Langdale Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £73 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellies Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellies is a friendly family run guesthouse offering quality bed & breakfast accommodation, where you can be sure of a warm welcome in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Ideally positioned on the West Cliff just a few minutes walk from Whitby Pavilion, the sea front, Whitby Abbey, Whitby town and harbour, and all other tourist attractions. Our location also affords guests easy access to the nearby North Yorkshire Moors including Goathland (Heartbeat's 'Aidensfield'), Teesside, Scarborough and Filey. Whatever your interests - arts & crafts, walking, cycling, sea fishing, sightseeing, business trip or simply a holiday, Ellies Guesthouse offers a warm welcome, excellent accommodation and a substantial full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Ellies Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing